Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

13 Posts

01-08-2011

BaWü

62 Signins

170 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎01-08-2011
  • Location: BaWü
  • Views: 170
  • Message 211 of 234

Re: w510 WWAN Gobi2000 issue with sim cards - BSOD, WWAN not working/detected, error msg

2011-02-07, 16:09 PM
...I didn't get a proper solution for my problem too. Now I bought a new Gobi2000 on my own. I will replace it and hope that everything is in working order. I don't believe that I will have to change the systemboard (that's what the support want's to do). If the new Gobi2000 is working I want to ask Lenovo to replace the Original card.

I hope that someone is able to undertsand my poor English! ;)

Regards
Volker
Reply
Options

13 Posts

01-08-2011

BaWü

62 Signins

170 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎01-08-2011
  • Location: BaWü
  • Views: 170
  • Message 212 of 234

Re: w510 WWAN Gobi2000 issue with sim cards - BSOD, WWAN not working/detected, error msg

2011-02-07, 16:10 PM

I sent this post a second time by mistake sorry -

Reply
Options

6 Posts

03-13-2011

California,US

18 Signins

57 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎03-13-2011
  • Location: California,US
  • Views: 57
  • Message 213 of 234

Re: w510 BSOD

2011-03-13, 2:52 AM

Looks like I have a similar issue with my GOBI in my W510 running WIN7 x64.

 

When I bought this laptop a year ago I had the GOBI card working with Verizon. Six months ago I canceld my service.  Yesterday I decided to activate it again but with Sprint.  To my suprise I can not power on the card.   I hit Cntl F5 and click the WWAN Interface button.... Nothing happens.  So I called Lenovo, the lady that answered had no clue.  She agreed it wasn't a hardware issue but did not have a solutions for me.  After wasting an hour on the phone she came to the conculsion that the only way for this to be fixed is by formatting and re-installing WIN7.  So today I carved out 20 gigs of my drive and insalled a clean version of WIN7 64bit SP1.... Just as I expected is still does NOT work. Then I installed WIN7 without SP1, still no luck.. That's when I decided to called back to support and noifiy them of my findings.  The first person that answered the phone asked me to hold for a second...  After 10 minutes of waiting I hung up and called back **bleep**....  When I gave the second person my ticket number they notified me that my ticket had been closed and I would need to open another ticket.... So this "phone guru" asked me if I used the Lenovo image to install WIN7.  I said no just a retail copy of windows.  So long story short they are mailing me a copy of the Lenovo windows image with all the drivers already installed.  I would bet money that it will not solve my problem.

 

After the lack of quality and support this will be my first and last Lenovo product.  My motherboard had been replaced twice, my Gobi card has already been replaced once, my NIC card has been replaced twice and now this...

 

Reply
Options

3538 Posts

07-12-2010

Malaysia

5065 Signins

104816 Page Views

  • Posts: 3538
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2010
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 104816
  • Message 214 of 234

Re: w510 BSOD

2011-03-14, 7:34 AM
@mabshire,

If issue still persist even after installing the preload Lenovo Win 7. Could you PM me the following and I will escalate it to customer relations to assist you on this.

Name:
Mobile:
Email:
MTM:
S/N:
Date of Purchase:
Previous case ID:

//JameZ
Reply
Options

6 Posts

03-13-2011

California,US

18 Signins

57 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎03-13-2011
  • Location: California,US
  • Views: 57
  • Message 215 of 234

Re: w510 BSOD

2011-03-14, 14:57 PM

Will do.  The disc should be here in the next few days.

 

Thanks JamesZ!

Reply
Options

52 Posts

03-29-2010

Berlin, Germany

151 Signins

999 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎03-29-2010
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Views: 999
  • Message 216 of 234

Re: w510 BSOD

2011-03-14, 15:18 PM

Hi JameZ,

any chance that the engineering department is going to look into my remaining issue? As far as I can judge the situation they simply didn't fix all existing bugs which cause the Gobi module to hang up / crash.

 

Short bug summary: The last 10 or more times I've been on a train I was never able to establish a connection while my cousin next to me could via a USB 3G stick (he has the same data plan with the same provider) + my cellphone's 3G worked, too. I, however, got the same error messages and behavior as with the previous bug your engineering department obviously fixed. The card appears and disappears and appears and … >_>

Strangely, when I'm in a fixed location like at home, it usually works fine for hours. (Which doesn't help me at all because I mostly need 3G when I'm on the move.)

[UPDATE] Yesterday, it didn't work at home, either. Must be the 6th or 7th time since the official driver update in October. (See my previous posts from last year.) As I said, however, I don't usually need 3G in fixed locations. So if I had tried more often, I'm sure it would have failed more often, too.

 

On a side note: I guess the reason that it's become that calm in this thread here despite the obviously existing issue is that most people use 3G in a fixed location. I mean – how many businessmen in the U.S. use the train? Over here in Europe, however, the train is a much more common means of transportation.

 

On another note: Take a look at who's still in need of help here: alram is from Austria, VoHiWa is from Germany like me. Maybe it's also something region- / provider-specific?

@mabshire: Which provider are you with?

 

I would really appreciate your help.

Reply
Options

6 Posts

03-13-2011

California,US

18 Signins

57 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎03-13-2011
  • Location: California,US
  • Views: 57
  • Message 217 of 234

Re: w510 BSOD

2011-03-16, 14:52 PM

I received the restore discs last night and wasted my whole evening defaulting my w510.  As I suspected it didn't fix the problem.  I think I have wasted over 8 hours on this issue with no resolution in sight. 

 

JameZ,

I PM'ed you the requested info please let me know if you can help.  I already activated with Sprint so the meter is running, if this doesn't get fix soon I need to call them back and cancel the service or I'm going to be stuck in a two year contract....

Reply
Options

3538 Posts

07-12-2010

Malaysia

5065 Signins

104816 Page Views

  • Posts: 3538
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2010
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 104816
  • Message 218 of 234

Re: w510 BSOD

2011-03-17, 6:58 AM
Hello mabshire,

Your issue has been logged to customer service as mentioned in the PM. Appreciate if you could wait for their advice on next step.

//JameZ
Reply
Options

52 Posts

03-29-2010

Berlin, Germany

151 Signins

999 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎03-29-2010
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Views: 999
  • Message 219 of 234

Re: w510 BSOD

2011-03-17, 18:57 PM

@JameZ: Are you ignoring me on purpose?

Reply
Options

3538 Posts

07-12-2010

Malaysia

5065 Signins

104816 Page Views

  • Posts: 3538
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2010
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 104816
  • Message 220 of 234

Re: w510 BSOD

2011-03-18, 2:29 AM
@codethief,

I did drop you a PM on the 15th March. Have you checked it?

//JameZ
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms