cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Guru
Posts: 755
Registered: ‎04-13-2012
Location: IS
Views: 417
Message 11 of 20

Re: Add an ssd to w520

The link to the Win7 iso is incorrect...

but if your download comes from http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net, then it's legit.
ThinkStation P500 - Xeon E5-1650v3/32GB // ThinkPad P70 - Xeon E3-1505M/32GB
ThinkPad W540 (20BG) - i7-4800MQ/32GB // ThinkPad W520 (4282-W4Q) - i7-2720QM/32GB
ThinkPad T450s (20BW) - i7-5600U/12GB // Yoga 900 - i7-6500U/8GB
ThinkPad T61 (7665-CTO) - T7700/4GB // ThinkPad T60p (8741-C2G) - T7400/4GB
stardude900
Punch Card
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎02-09-2013
Location: United States
Views: 396
Message 12 of 20

Re: Add an ssd to w520

man i'm not sure how i managed to mess that link up. "yeah heres the link for the .iso i got"......."Tom that's an ssd"....oops! haha here is the correct link! 

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-windows_install/cannot-find-digital-river...

 

I used the windows 7 x64 pro link in the top answer

Guru
Posts: 755
Registered: ‎04-13-2012
Location: IS
Views: 393
Message 13 of 20

Re: Add an ssd to w520

Yup, these are legit and your Pro key should work just fine.
ThinkStation P500 - Xeon E5-1650v3/32GB // ThinkPad P70 - Xeon E3-1505M/32GB
ThinkPad W540 (20BG) - i7-4800MQ/32GB // ThinkPad W520 (4282-W4Q) - i7-2720QM/32GB
ThinkPad T450s (20BW) - i7-5600U/12GB // Yoga 900 - i7-6500U/8GB
ThinkPad T61 (7665-CTO) - T7700/4GB // ThinkPad T60p (8741-C2G) - T7400/4GB
stardude900
Punch Card
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎02-09-2013
Location: United States
Views: 381
Message 14 of 20

Re: Add an ssd to w520

phewf...thank goodness.  Are there any additional steps to uninstalling windows 7 from the other drive to free up space? Or would you guys recommend avoiding this all together and just cloning the hdd over to the ssd (providing I free up enough space). I just feel like that doens't allocate the things correctly or won't have it set up with trim very well.

Guru
Posts: 755
Registered: ‎04-13-2012
Location: IS
Views: 376
Message 15 of 20

Re: Add an ssd to w520

I would recommend pulling your HD out while doing a clean install on your new card, then backing up the data you want to keep from the HD, clearing it completely afterwards, all partitions, to get rid of the System Reserved partition and additional boot loader info.

Freeing up space and then clone the old hard drive is a lot of work, and in the end you'd also have to clear out the old HD before usage.

NB, just my two cents. There are many ways to go about this, but this is by far the simplest and cleanest way to achieve this.
ThinkStation P500 - Xeon E5-1650v3/32GB // ThinkPad P70 - Xeon E3-1505M/32GB
ThinkPad W540 (20BG) - i7-4800MQ/32GB // ThinkPad W520 (4282-W4Q) - i7-2720QM/32GB
ThinkPad T450s (20BW) - i7-5600U/12GB // Yoga 900 - i7-6500U/8GB
ThinkPad T61 (7665-CTO) - T7700/4GB // ThinkPad T60p (8741-C2G) - T7400/4GB
stardude900
Punch Card
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎02-09-2013
Location: United States
Views: 365
Message 16 of 20

Re: Add an ssd to w520

Thank you much for the help.  Do you recommend the 120GB m500 from crucial?  It has pretty fast read speeds at around 500mb/s, but sadly it's got only around 130mb/s for write.  I'm assuming that really isn't too important, especially seeing as i'd be using the other hdd for writing things to.  I also have an external usb 3.0 2tb storage device i use to record things to.

Guru
Posts: 755
Registered: ‎04-13-2012
Location: IS
Views: 358
Message 17 of 20

Re: Add an ssd to w520

I got no experience with the m500 myself, but I've only read good things about it. It's also at a good price vs performance, so it's a very solid upgrade.
ThinkStation P500 - Xeon E5-1650v3/32GB // ThinkPad P70 - Xeon E3-1505M/32GB
ThinkPad W540 (20BG) - i7-4800MQ/32GB // ThinkPad W520 (4282-W4Q) - i7-2720QM/32GB
ThinkPad T450s (20BW) - i7-5600U/12GB // Yoga 900 - i7-6500U/8GB
ThinkPad T61 (7665-CTO) - T7700/4GB // ThinkPad T60p (8741-C2G) - T7400/4GB
jonathan7007
Token Ring
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Location: US
Views: 305
Message 18 of 20

Re: Add an ssd to w520

Crucial is a great company to buy from with excellent customer service and policies. Prices change, but with no idea what this does to your budget I recommend a 256Gig SSD as a boot drive even though you have a spinning drive to save bigger files.

 

The larger SSD will allow more programs to fit -- therefore speed up minute-tominute processes. I edit photos a lot on my machine (w520) and want programs like Photoshop and Lightroom to react quickly.

 

I have the 256Gig Samsung 830 in my w520 original bay and an older Intel 80Gig mSATA in the PCIe slot mentioned in posts above. The first move to SSD boot took my boot files from the HD spinning drive to the mSATA and I later moved the boot to my then-new Samsung 830. There is good advice above and in many other threads about the migration of your boot routines. Do take out the spinning drive while you re-install.

 

Good luck! you'll be amazed.

 

Jonathan7007

4276-37U -- W520. Keeping an X61t just in case.
First laptop in my house was a luggable Osborne! Now that was a cool computer. (...for its time!)
gusat
HDMI
Posts: 235
Registered: ‎10-21-2012
Location: Switzerland
Views: 290
Message 19 of 20

Re: Add an ssd to w520

+1

The rules of FLASH-based storage (SSD, SD cards, USB sticks etc.) are simple: (1) buy the largest you can afford and... (2) Keep it as empty, or rarely written to, as possible.

As you all know, Flash writes are destructive, with commercial SSDs providing only ca. 3K write cycles (internally to the cell block). The magic of garbage collection, wear leveling etc. uses advanced algorithms to provide the user with years of device operation... at the cost of decreasing performance over time.

Hence, buy the biggest SSD and keep it clean, mainly for RD-intensive programs and data!

Personally i just bought a 480GB m500 (mSATA) for the OS and key programs. All the rest i installed on the 2nd HDD (a Seagate video 500GB), which 99% sleeps quietly unused... I'd wish for simple single SSD install, w/o noisy/slow HDDs around, but the 2 technologies complement each other and i can control which one does what for me, at what $/performance point.
gusat
HDMI
Posts: 235
Registered: ‎10-21-2012
Location: Switzerland
Views: 290
Message 20 of 20

Re: Add an ssd to w520

@ h2k "YOu can deactivate your conventional HDD in wondows disc management. Mine is deactivated and only activated to create an image backup of my SSD every 2 weeks. I can fit 2 complete images on my HDD so i have good backup history. "

 

Valid strategy. However, depending on your usage patterns and type of work you do, your main SSD may age faster than necessary owing to (a) many write cycles, done into (b) decreasing free space (available cell blocks).

This combination is the silent killer 99.9% of all FLASH devices such as SSDs, killing them softly in performance - and eventually, in life ETA.

You may be better off by activating your 2nd HDD and moving there all the data, docs, downloads, temps, caches (except OS/filesystem). Then you set it to sleep (spindown) in 30s, to avoid its power consumption and noise when idling (95-99% of the time). Mitch

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors