cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Guru
Posts: 2,049
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: US
Views: 1,351
Message 1 of 6

Adventures in upgrading my P1 to RAID 1

I had ordered a preconfigured system w/o RAID, but I knew that I could upgrade the unit to RAID 1 after receipt. Here's what I did:

 

1. Ordered an additional 1TB SSD with the same model number as in the unit

2. Backed up the entire primary drive using Acronis True Image 2019 (all partitions)

3. Installed the new NVMe SSD in the open slot (I also had to locate a M2-L2.5mm screw which had not been installed at the factory) Smiley Sad

4. Rebooted into BIOS and changed the storage parameters from AHCI to RST

5. Defined the RAID volume configuration (RAID 1)

6. Rebooted systems from the Acronis backup media with the previously made image

7. Restored all the partitions and MBR

8. Rebooted the system (here things get a bit confusing)

9. Received an error from Windows that it couldn't access the boot drive (interesting since it just booted from that!)

10.Booted the system into Safe Mode (system came up)

11. Restarted the system from Safe Mode (system came up normally!)

12.Installed Intel RST driver and control panel package.

 

Hope this helps others who want to upgrade the P1.

 


P53 XEON 2276 BIOS 1.17 OLED UHD 4K Multi-touch display, 96GB RAM, RTX5000, RAID 1, 1TB x 2 Samsung PM981, 1TB PM981, WWAN
P70 XEON 1505, BIOS 2.32, 4k Display, 64GB, M3000M NVIDIA GPU, RAID1 1TB Samsung PM981 PCIe-NVMe SSD x 2, 2x Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD. EM7455 WWAN
P1. BIOS 1.24,Xeon Processor, 32GB, PM981 1TB x 2, RAID1
T470s, 16GB RAM, BIOS 1.10, i7-7500, WQHD display, 512GB PM961 PCIe NVMe SSD
Guru
Posts: 2,049
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: US
Views: 1,270
Message 2 of 6

Re: Adventures in upgrading my P1 to RAID 1

UPDATE: Posting a picture from Notebookcheck.com on a similar P1 which is also missing the SSD screw for the second slot:

 

 

P1_SSD.jpg


P53 XEON 2276 BIOS 1.17 OLED UHD 4K Multi-touch display, 96GB RAM, RTX5000, RAID 1, 1TB x 2 Samsung PM981, 1TB PM981, WWAN
P70 XEON 1505, BIOS 2.32, 4k Display, 64GB, M3000M NVIDIA GPU, RAID1 1TB Samsung PM981 PCIe-NVMe SSD x 2, 2x Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD. EM7455 WWAN
P1. BIOS 1.24,Xeon Processor, 32GB, PM981 1TB x 2, RAID1
T470s, 16GB RAM, BIOS 1.10, i7-7500, WQHD display, 512GB PM961 PCIe NVMe SSD
manii
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-11-2011
Location: AT
Views: 1,260
Message 3 of 6

Re: Adventures in upgrading my P1 to RAID 1

Just for info, i ordered my P1 with 2 x 1TB preconfigured but it didn't come as raid config (couldn't even choose if or what type of raid I want) - also had to configure it manually like you did, but did a fresh install on the raid. Used a normal Win 10 Pro install medium, installed LAN driver using USB stick, then installed lenovo vantage, rest installed using update-feature of lenovo vantage. Win 10 Pro "upgraded" itself to a licenced Win 10 Pro for Workstations. Now all works like a charm, except the dock (Link).

drcnyc
Punch Card
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-11-2018
Location: US
Views: 1,122
Message 4 of 6

Re: Adventures in upgrading my P1 to RAID 1

harrisb, all I have to say is THANK YOU.  Did the exact same thing as you (though using two new 970 pro's in RAID0) and following a macrium image / restore I kept getting BSOD.  Rebooted in safe mode, then rebooted from safe mode, and everything works like a charm.  You saved me a lot of time.

Tripup
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-09-2019
Location: US
Views: 200
Message 5 of 6

Re: Adventures in upgrading my P1 to RAID 1

You beautiful person. Also saved me a ton of time.
aa198
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-07-2019
Location: US
Views: 132
Message 6 of 6

Re: Adventures in upgrading my P1 to RAID 1

Did you notice that there was an improvement in performance when he switched to Raid1

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors