Message 1 of 6

Best Way to Backup a Raid hard drive on Windows 7 Pro OS

This is my set-up

Lenovo W520 on factory installed Windows 7 Professional OS

Two 500 GB Internal Hard drive on Raid 1 (factory installed):

NO DVD burner

Have a 2TB External Hard drive partitioned into three -

#1--600GB;  #2-- 600GB;    #3--600+GB

I already created a "Factory recovery disk" from the thinkvantage tool and put it in partition #1

The next step is to create a backup of my system, application and data.

Thinkvantage tools offers 2 options:

1. Windows backup

2. Rescue & Recovery

Question 1:

With the set-up as listed above, what is the best  & most effective way to backup a Raid 1 on Windows 7 Pro OS?

How do you do it? Smiley EmbarassedHow often to backup?Smiley Embarassed (I am just a beginner on RAID)

Question 2:

OR do you use other Back-up/ Imaging software??? Smiley Embarassed(e.g. Acronis,paragon system backup,norton ghost , novabackup, nero backit up)

Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Views: 2,159
Message 2 of 6

Re: Best Way to Backup a Raid hard drive on Windows 7 Pro OS

RAID-1 is mirroring, so in a way you are always backing up your HDD, in real time.  If one of the HDDs fails, you still have 100% of the data on your other HDD.  I guess it is possible that both of your HDDs could fail at once, in which case you will wish you had a backup.  

For Windows 7, I recommend using the "Create System Image" feature of the built-in backup and restore utility.  Then, make sure you create a system repair disc and store it in a safe place, in case it is ever needed to restore a backup.  In addition to this, because you are using RAID, you will need to have the RAID device driver on a memory key somewhere - the repair disc will need it because the RAID driver probably isn't built-in to Win7.

Some people prefer R&R, but I only use it on XP.  For Win7, I use the built-in backup and restore utility - it's quite good.

ZipZap
802.11n
Views: 2,152
Message 3 of 6

Hi, Herb,