cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cjrhoads
Paper Tape
Views: 19,673
Message 1 of 17

Fingerprint sign-on option disappeared after firmware update to fix HDMI problem

Hello.  I have a Lenovo P50 20EN laptop.  I've been tearing my hair out for about 6 months because the HDMI port wasn't working (which, of course, I blamed on the cable and returned it to the company who sent it back saying nothing was wrong with it.  Finally I discovered that the P50 HDMI port had a known problem.  

So I following the instructions in this community board to update the driver for the Thunderbolt software.  I don't have an HDMI device here so I can't test the results yet, but I immediately ran into another problem; my fingerprint reader wouldn't let me sign-on.  Low and behold, the fingerprint signon setup has disappeared entirely from the signin options.  

I tried following the directions to restore the fingerprint signon after losing it due to a Windows 10 update, but that must be a different problem because in my case, there is no Fingerprint Setup button at all in the signon options settings.

Can anyone help me?

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Views: 19,656
Message 2 of 17

Re: Fingerprint sign-on option disappeared after firmware update to fix HDMI problem

Hi,

I ran into a similar problem, but on a newer laptop.  This may or may not help...

See if you can find the FPR in Device Manager.  It may or may not be listed as the FPR.  For mine in properties it said something like "Device is not working properly because windows cannot load the drivers required for this device"

Still in DM I did an uninstall of the device, then scan for new hardware, and after a brief delay it was happy and available for Windows Hello.  [edit to add] I did not tick the box to remove the driver along with the device.

If that doesn't do it, the only other thing that comes to mind is reinstalling the chipset driver...

Z.