cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Max1985
Paper Tape
Views: 5,817
Message 1 of 9

Help! Lenovo P51 is plugged in, but the battery is not charging and the power led is off.

Hello everybody,

Since today I have a problem with my Lenovo P51 workstation laptop. 

When the charger is plugged in and the laptop is turned off, the small ac adapter plugged-in indicator led on the back is turned on as normal. When I power on the laptop, the led will turn off and the laptop will receive no power at all. When the battery is removed, it is possible to boot into Windows, but after a few seconds the laptop will turn off.

I hope you guys can help me! This laptop is mandatory for my study.

Thank you!

Kind regards,

Max

andrewlg
Punch Card
Views: 5,801
Message 2 of 9

Re: Help! Lenovo P51 is plugged in, but the battery is not charging and the power led is off.

I'm no expert, but I believe that this is normal behavior for Airplane Mode, in that it will charge the laptop when turned off only. Is this mode turned on?

Max1985
Paper Tape
Views: 5,796
Message 3 of 9

Re: Help! Lenovo P51 is plugged in, but the battery is not charging and the power led is off.

Yes that was it! I mis clicked the airplane mode, but disabled it immediately after. The next time I started up the computer it acts like no power cord is connected to the laptop. 

But the issue was the airplane mode in the power management window in Windows. When you disable the airplane mode at the internet options, the airplane mode in the power menu will still stay active! After resetting this to high performance the problem was fixed.

This is really something that should be patched by Lenovo or Microsoft! People can return their laptops to the shop because they might think it is defect if they don't troubleshoot themselves....

Thanks you some much for the help! Now I can finally take a shower after the heavy sweating haha.

andrewlg
Punch Card
Views: 5,756
Message 4 of 9