cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Bazsl1
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-12-2015
Location: United States
Views: 681
Message 1 of 12

How mirror displays on W530 with dicrete graphics card?

I have a W530 with a NIVIDIA Quadro K1000M graphics card running Win 10 Pro. I have an external monitor connected. I think the external monitor uses the K1000M and the internal monitor uses the Intel graphics card. The only options I have are:

 

Extend these displays

Show on display 1 only

Show on display 2 only

 

There is no option to mirror the displays. How can configure my W530 so I can mirror the displays when I have a projector connected instead of the external monitor? Thanks.

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,803
Registered: ‎12-12-2016
Location: IN
Views: 668
Message 2 of 12

Re: How mirror displays on W530 with dicrete graphics card?

Hi Bazsl1, 

 

Welcome to Lenovo Community! And happy to have you here.

 

As I understand that you are facing issue while duplicating the Display in your W530

For this enter in BIOS mode Config> Display>Graphics Device>Discrete Graphics Save and Exit changes.

To use Duplicate Display in NVIDIA Optimus Mode check this link.

 

I hope the above information helped you.

And feel free to post in Lenovo Community Forums if you have any further queries!

 
Cheers,

Prabhansh
_______________________________________________
Tap that Kudos button if I helped.
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

____________________________________________________
ThinkPad T440p| Intel® Core™ i5-4300M| 2.6 GHz Dual core| 8GB
Bazsl1
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-12-2015
Location: United States
Views: 629
Message 3 of 12

Re: How mirror displays on W530 with dicrete graphics card?

How do I access the BIOS? I have tried pressing F12 repeatedly after power on but it does not work.
Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,803
Registered: ‎12-12-2016
Location: IN
Views: 626
Message 4 of 12

Re: How mirror displays on W530 with dicrete graphics card?

Hi friend, 

 

To enter in BIOS you need to keep on tapping F1 key or check this page. Also check this - Recommended way to enter BIOS.

 

Cheers 

Prabhansh

____________________________________________________
ThinkPad T440p| Intel® Core™ i5-4300M| 2.6 GHz Dual core| 8GB
Bazsl1
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-12-2015
Location: United States
Views: 620
Message 5 of 12

Re: How mirror displays on W530 with dicrete graphics card?

I entered BIOS setup and Config> Display>Graphics Device> is set to NVIDIA Optimu. All the settings on this page are grayed out and cannot be changed. Any other suggestions? Thanks.

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,803
Registered: ‎12-12-2016
Location: IN
Views: 615
Message 6 of 12

Re: How mirror displays on W530 with dicrete graphics card?

Hi again, 

 

You need to press TAB key to make changes in that & also make sure that OS Detection for NVIDIA Optimus is Disabled. 

 

Prabhansh

____________________________________________________
ThinkPad T440p| Intel® Core™ i5-4300M| 2.6 GHz Dual core| 8GB
Bazsl1
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-12-2015
Location: United States
Views: 609
Message 7 of 12

Re: How mirror displays on W530 with dicrete graphics card?

Pressing the Tab key causes the speaker to beep and that is all. All of the BIOS settings are grayed out and cannot be changed. For example, I tried to change config > network > wake on and could not.

 

OS Detection for NVIDIA Optimus is enabled and grayed out and I cannot change it.

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,803
Registered: ‎12-12-2016
Location: IN
Views: 605
Message 8 of 12

Re: How mirror displays on W530 with dicrete graphics card?

Hi again, 

 

It seems that there is Supervisor Password set in your system that's the reason all settings are greyed out.

Check this & this for references. 

Then try Duplicating Displays with “NVIDIA Optimus” Enabled (default) from here 

 

Do let us know how it goes.

 

Prabhansh
_______________________________________________
Tap that Kudos button if I helped.
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

____________________________________________________
ThinkPad T440p| Intel® Core™ i5-4300M| 2.6 GHz Dual core| 8GB
Bazsl1
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-12-2015
Location: United States
Views: 599
Message 9 of 12

Re: How mirror displays on W530 with dicrete graphics card?

Thanks for your patience Prabhansh. I have the BIOS administrator password and can now make changes. Under Config > Display > Graphics Device I have the following settings.

 

Boot display device: Thinkpad LCD

Graphics Device: NVIDIA Optimu

OS detection for NVIDIA Optimus: Enabled

 

I understand that you want me to change the settings to the following:

 

Graphics Device: Discrete Graphics

OS detection for NVIDIA Optimus: Disabled

 

Is that correct?

 

Before I make these changes can you tell me what I am changing? For example, does changing the Graphics Device to Discrete Graphics cause both the interal LCD and the external monitor to use the Intel graphics instead of the NVIDIA Quadro K1000M card? Thanks.

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,803
Registered: ‎12-12-2016
Location: IN
Views: 595
Message 10 of 12

Re: How mirror displays on W530 with dicrete graphics card?

Hi again, 

 

Changing the Graphic Device to Discrete will make the use of NVIDIA Quadro K1000M card in both external monitor & Internal LCD.The Discrete Graphics mode enhances graphics performance whereas when NVIDIA Optimus is selected, the system automatically switches between discrete graphics mode and the integrated graphics mode depending on the running program. 

And only if Integrated Graphics is selected it will use Intel Graphics which consumes less battery life. To use NVIDIA Optimus Operating System should be higher than Windows 7 in your case it is Windows 10. So if OS detection is Enabled no matter what settings you have made in Graphic Device once the system is booted in Windows it will by default select NVIDIA Optmius as Graphic Device.

 

I hope the above information helped you and I'm clear!

 

Cheers,

Prabhansh
_______________________________________________
Tap that Kudos button if I helped.
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

    

____________________________________________________
ThinkPad T440p| Intel® Core™ i5-4300M| 2.6 GHz Dual core| 8GB

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors