Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
LD12
Serial Port
Views: 777
Message 1 of 3

Installing a Sierra Wireless card into a P50

A friend of mine has a P50, and was interested to know that he could have gotten it from Lenovo with a Sierra Wireless card already installed.  Is this something that he and I can do (I'm a hobbyist desktop builder), or is there some unchangeable difference in the motherboard?  Which Sierra Wireless card fits best and works in the US on the Verizon network?  

rvcjew
802.11n
Views: 711
Message 2 of 3

Re: Installing a Sierra Wireless card into a P50

@LD12 wrote:

A friend of mine has a P50, and was interested to know that he could have gotten it from Lenovo with a Sierra Wireless card already installed.  Is this something that he and I can do (I'm a hobbyist desktop builder), or is there some unchangeable difference in the motherboard?  Which Sierra Wireless card fits best and works in the US on the Verizon network?  

Use's this one for the US market and should work with Verizon per their device page. It goes under the keyboard next to the RAM slots in the mini pci-e slot. you may need more cabling though as the sim goes under the battery I believe when you remove it. From what I can find the cabling should already be there but I would make sure you have the sim tray.

https://support.lenovo.com/us/en/solutions/acc100290

https://www.sierrawireless.com/products-and-solutions/embedded-solutions/products/em7455/

chrome_2017-04-17_12-22-53.png

I own a Y510p SLI (retired), Yoga 2 Pro, P50 4K, X1C5
LD12
Serial Port
Views: 676
Message 3 of 3

Re: Installing a Sierra Wireless card into a P50

Okay, so a couple of observations and questions:  

1) I know the Sim card slot is in place, because I took the battery out and put a sim card into it.  It pops in and out, just like a normal sim card holder would. I do not see a sim card holder in the device manager.