cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
microfishd1
Token Ring
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎02-19-2015
Location: US
Views: 551
Message 1 of 12

Keymapping P70 P50?

Hi all!

 

1.) Does the P70 and/or P50 (or the bios) support Keymapping?  Because there are some keys on my T40 (esp. the forward and back keys--the ones that sit with the arrow keys--I love those little things) that I use all. the. time.  and can't really see myself living without.  I've even caught myself a time or fifty looking for those keys on the keyboards at our Vista or Win7 towers (and other PCs--towers and laptops).  I'd love to map them if possible (changing it to FN+that key for Page-up or whatever). 

( 1a.) Can Keymappers even assign FN key combos?)

 

Thanks!

-----------IBM T40: XP PRO SP3, 14.1" 4:3 display, 512MB DDR RAM, 40GB HDD, ThinkLight, DVD.
Lenovo Ideacentre H215: AMD Athlon II X2 215, 500GB HDD, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 64-bit Win7, AMD 760G.
P50 i7, M2000M, 1x16GB RAM, 1080p non-touch, 512GB SSD, 500GB HDD, Backlight, No WWAN, No PWM, No Raid.
zekeblue
Token Ring
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎04-04-2010
Location: US
Views: 505
Message 2 of 12

Re: Keymapping P70 P50?

I use KeyTweak 2.3.0 to put the Ctrl-Shift-Alt keys back in the original order of the old days before IBM made computer keyboards mimic typewriter keyboards with the Capslock key next to the A.  It will remap function keys, though I have not done that.  It is working fine on Windows 10.  The article below refers to Sharpkeys and says it will do multiple keystrokes mapped to a single key which could be handy.

 

http://www.download3k.com/System-Utilities/Other-Utilities/Download-KeyTweak.html

 

 

 


. . . . . Zeke . . . . . X1 Carbon G6 - Win10 (current), P50 - Win10 (2 yrs), T510 - Win7 (previous 6 yrs)
.
microfishd1
Token Ring
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎02-19-2015
Location: US
Views: 441
Message 3 of 12

Re: Keymapping P70 P50?

Thank you very much!
-----------IBM T40: XP PRO SP3, 14.1" 4:3 display, 512MB DDR RAM, 40GB HDD, ThinkLight, DVD.
Lenovo Ideacentre H215: AMD Athlon II X2 215, 500GB HDD, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 64-bit Win7, AMD 760G.
P50 i7, M2000M, 1x16GB RAM, 1080p non-touch, 512GB SSD, 500GB HDD, Backlight, No WWAN, No PWM, No Raid.
microfishd1
Token Ring
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎02-19-2015
Location: US
Views: 442
Message 4 of 12

Re: Keymapping P70 P50?

Thank you very much!

-----------IBM T40: XP PRO SP3, 14.1" 4:3 display, 512MB DDR RAM, 40GB HDD, ThinkLight, DVD.
Lenovo Ideacentre H215: AMD Athlon II X2 215, 500GB HDD, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 64-bit Win7, AMD 760G.
P50 i7, M2000M, 1x16GB RAM, 1080p non-touch, 512GB SSD, 500GB HDD, Backlight, No WWAN, No PWM, No Raid.
microfishd1
Token Ring
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎02-19-2015
Location: US
Views: 470
Message 5 of 12

Re: Keymapping P70 P50?

thank you very much!
-----------IBM T40: XP PRO SP3, 14.1" 4:3 display, 512MB DDR RAM, 40GB HDD, ThinkLight, DVD.
Lenovo Ideacentre H215: AMD Athlon II X2 215, 500GB HDD, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 64-bit Win7, AMD 760G.
P50 i7, M2000M, 1x16GB RAM, 1080p non-touch, 512GB SSD, 500GB HDD, Backlight, No WWAN, No PWM, No Raid.
zekeblue
Token Ring
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎04-04-2010
Location: US
Views: 463
Message 6 of 12

Re: Keymapping P70 P50?

Sure, hope it works out for you. I've been remapping those keys since the nineties. I cut my teeth in the eighties when the Ctrl was next to the A. It still boggles my mind that that change took over.

Back in the day, the function keys were often in two columns at the left of the keyboard. Made for access by touch and even just for proximity. I was pissed when putting them on top became the norm.

I'm just a curmudgeon about these things!


. . . . . Zeke . . . . . X1 Carbon G6 - Win10 (current), P50 - Win10 (2 yrs), T510 - Win7 (previous 6 yrs)
.
microfishd1
Token Ring
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎02-19-2015
Location: US
Views: 458
Message 7 of 12

Re: Keymapping P70 P50?

Wow!  As a twenty-something, the first PC I ever used was a Gateway Pentium Pro running Win95.  (I also have vague memories of playing a game on my grandpa's Atari.  It had two monitors--one was black and white, and the other was color.  Depending on the program that you wanted to run, you would swap which monitor you plugged into the keyboard/computer peice.  He still has it, and it runs, but I never take the time to use it.)

The first laptop I remember seeing was my dad's work-provided T40.

-----------IBM T40: XP PRO SP3, 14.1" 4:3 display, 512MB DDR RAM, 40GB HDD, ThinkLight, DVD.
Lenovo Ideacentre H215: AMD Athlon II X2 215, 500GB HDD, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 64-bit Win7, AMD 760G.
P50 i7, M2000M, 1x16GB RAM, 1080p non-touch, 512GB SSD, 500GB HDD, Backlight, No WWAN, No PWM, No Raid.
zekeblue
Token Ring
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎04-04-2010
Location: US
Views: 452
Message 8 of 12

Re: Keymapping P70 P50?

I actually had one of the very early laptops.  Probably about 1987-88.  It was a Kaypro 2000.  Back when it was 8086 processors (IIRC).  Single 3.5" floppy.  Monochrome LCD screen - no backlight.  It was amazing at the time!


. . . . . Zeke . . . . . X1 Carbon G6 - Win10 (current), P50 - Win10 (2 yrs), T510 - Win7 (previous 6 yrs)
.
microfishd1
Token Ring
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎02-19-2015
Location: US
Views: 445
Message 9 of 12

Re: Keymapping P70 P50?

I can see that that would have been a big deal back then.

Was that the one with the function keys on the side and control next to the "A"?  If not, would you please tell me what laptop that was on? 

 

BTW, FWIW, my dad corrected me.  He had had a Dell Latitude (model unknown) prior to his company going to IBM/Lenovo.  He's since been upgraded to a T42p, T60?, T420s, and is currently on a T430s.  (and he misses his thinklight!)

-----------IBM T40: XP PRO SP3, 14.1" 4:3 display, 512MB DDR RAM, 40GB HDD, ThinkLight, DVD.
Lenovo Ideacentre H215: AMD Athlon II X2 215, 500GB HDD, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 64-bit Win7, AMD 760G.
P50 i7, M2000M, 1x16GB RAM, 1080p non-touch, 512GB SSD, 500GB HDD, Backlight, No WWAN, No PWM, No Raid.
zekeblue
Token Ring
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎04-04-2010
Location: US
Views: 432
Message 10 of 12

Re: Keymapping P70 P50?

Boy, I can't recall the precise layout of that keyboard after all these years.  They may have been on the top since that keyboard was quite compact.  The keyboards with function keys on the left were desktop keyboards.  Here's a typical example:

 

anykbd.jpg

 

And, now that I revisit what they looked like, I can see there were duplicated function keys - top and left.

 

 


. . . . . Zeke . . . . . X1 Carbon G6 - Win10 (current), P50 - Win10 (2 yrs), T510 - Win7 (previous 6 yrs)
.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors