cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Mavic
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-07-2015
Location: Canada
Views: 1,771
Message 1 of 14

New system board options for w530

Hi all - I've got a w530 2436-CTO that likely needs a new main board. It won't post, and when the memory is removed it gives a beep code that the manual says is either the DIMM or the system board. I believe my system board FRU is 04x1505, but I can't find anywhere to buy this part. How can I figure out which other FRUs are compatible? For example, I see many places selling 04x1547.

A Lenovo doc describes 04x1505 as PLN Q1 y-amt y-TPM and the 04x1547 as PL Q3 W8 nAMTyTPM.

Any thoughts? Thanks guys.
Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 1,768
Message 2 of 14

Re: New system board options for w530

Without any memory installed, a 1-3-3-1 beep sequence is normal.

Not sure on the board FRUs though. Do you happen to have a K2100M?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Mavic
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-07-2015
Location: Canada
Views: 1,762
Message 3 of 14

Re: New system board options for w530

Good to know that beep code is normal with no memory installed. If I put the memory in and press the power button, the fans spin, the keyboard backlight flashes for a second, then the power led goes out and it turns off. Two seconds later, the power light comes back, the fans start up, then it turns off again. It will keep doing this in a loop until I unplug the battery and power. If I leave it in this loop long enough, sometimes it will 'catch' and successfully boot.

I do have the k1000m. Is that a potential failure point?
Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 1,758
Message 4 of 14

Re: New system board options for w530

Did you happen to have run System Update before it failed?

Can you also check the power button for damage (stickiness, residue from spilled liquids, etc)? Maybe the power button is just stuck and turning the system on and off?

Also try the old static discharge trick:
Remove the AC and battery. Press the power button 10 times, then press and hold for 30 seconds. Attach the AC and try booting again.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Mavic
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-07-2015
Location: Canada
Views: 1,752
Message 5 of 14

Re: New system board options for w530

No system update before the problem surfaced.  I first saw the issue a few weeks ago - had to press the power button twice to get it started.  Next time it took more attempts before it would boot, then more - the problem basically escalated until it reached the point where it is now.

 

Power button feels fine, but I'll take a closer look.  It's really built into the keyboard so it's hard to check it.  Maybe a little electronics cleaner sprayed in the gap between the button and the keyboard bezel wouldn't hurt?

 

I did try the discharge trick - didn't seem to be the fix.  Sometimes it would start, but it really felt like it wasn't linked directly to the discharge trick as it didn't work every time.

 

I've tried a lot of things like removing the drives, swapping memory, discharge trick, etc. but none of them allow me to consistently start every time, so it feels like there's a variable I haven't tried that's the real underlying problem - this is sort of what led me to suspect the system board.  It's really just a guess though.

 

I'm not running the latest BIOS - I have G5ET98WW 2.58 and they're up to 2.62, but I didn't see anything that looked like it was relevant (mostly security updates), and I'm scared of trying to update the BIOS when startup is so flaky!

Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 1,740
Message 6 of 14

Re: New system board options for w530

Yeah I wouldn't do a BIOS reset with a flaky boot, unless you have a board on standby and are willing to risk junking the existing board.

I'd say keep looking for a board on eBay. Which board you want depends on whether you want AMT or TPM, and if you want another K1000M or want to upgrade to the K2000M.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Mavic
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-07-2015
Location: Canada
Views: 1,738
Message 7 of 14

Re: New system board options for w530

I had to look up AMT and TPM just to see what they were! I don't need them - the laptop is used for CAD in a small business. I'm OK with either K1000M or K2000M, it will all depend on what's available at what price. Is there a document that describes what each FRU is made of? eBay listings have the FRU, but no further description. I found one document that showed me that a 04x1523 is a PL Q1 W8-STD nAMTyTPM, but I don't know what all those designations mean. I can guess the y and n before AMT & TPM are yes/no, but I don't know what the other codes mean. Does one of those other letter codes tell me if its k1000m or k2000m?
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 10,279
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: US
Views: 1,729
Message 8 of 14

Re: New system board options for w530

First, see if it is a memory problem.  Try to start with just 1 DIMM in the upper slot under the keyboard.  If that doesn't work, try a different DIMM in the same slot.


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Mavic
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-07-2015
Location: Canada
Views: 1,711
Message 9 of 14

Re: New system board options for w530

Thanks richk, I did try one DIMM in the upper slot, also tried a brand new DIMM that I bought (hoping it was a memory issue) in the upper slot but it didn't work.  Is there something special about the upper slot?  I only tried it because I was trying to test every permutation of memory setup I could think of.

 

I ran the hardware scan in the Lenovo Solution Center and all of the tests passed (including motherboard & memory).  Not sure how good that hardware scan is at actually picking up faults.

 

I found this list of FRUs for the W530:

 

https://download.lenovo.com/parts/ThinkPad/w530_fru_list_20131007.pdf

 

I can't tell which system boards ('planars' in this list) would fit my machine.  If it is a bad system board, anyone know how to decipher the decscriptions of the FRUs & determine which would fit my machine?  I don't mind if it's a K1000m or K2000m board, either would be fine.

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 10,279
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: US
Views: 1,693
Message 10 of 14

Re: New system board options for w530

The upper slot under the keyboard is slot 0 (the first slot). It is where you would put a DIMM if you had only 1. If you had 2, you would put the second into the upper slot in the rear (slot 1).

 

They will all fit.  If you don't need AMT, TPM or RAID, they will all work.  If you feed any of those features, you need a board with the feature(s) you want.


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors