English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

349 Posts

02-19-2015

US

472 Signins

4603 Page Views

  • Posts: 349
  • Registered: ‎02-19-2015
  • Location: US
  • Views: 4603
  • Message 1 of 4

Ought I to get 32GB of RAM?

2016-09-28, 6:21 AM

Hi all,

Now the only decision I have left to make before ordering is whether to spend an additional $100 to upgrade from 16GB (1x16) to 32GB (4x8) RAM now (after warranty or never).

The only clear short-term advantage that I see to upgrading is running in dual-channel mode or Virtual machines, though my understanding is that dual-channel mode makes more of a difference if you don't have a dedicated GPU; however the P50 does. There might, of course, be other advantages that I do not see right now.

Since I plan on using this machine for 6-8+ years, I might come to a point where I really wished that I had gotten it now.

Advice, please? Thank you!

-----------IBM T40: XP PRO SP3, 14.1" 4:3 display, 512MB DDR RAM, 40GB HDD, ThinkLight, DVD.
Lenovo Ideacentre H215: AMD Athlon II X2 215, 500GB HDD, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 64-bit Win7, AMD 760G.
P50 i7, M2000M, 1x16GB RAM, 1080p, 512GB SSD, 500GB HDD, Backlight, 7Pro.
Reply
Options

376 Posts

10-20-2008

US

740 Signins

5553 Page Views

  • Posts: 376
  • Registered: ‎10-20-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 5553
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: Ought I to get 32GB of RAM?

2016-09-28, 21:41 PM

Current RAM generation will likely get cheaper over time (at least while the technology remains current).

 

However, if you buy memory with the machine, since you are planning to also have Lenovo Onsite coverage, it will also be covered by the service agreement (as well as tested and guaranteed to work properly in your machine).  VMs run best when you have enough RAM to support them without paging to disk.

 

Don't underestimate the value of a fully supported machine with a known-good configuration.  If you can put the memory to good use (and can afford it), go for it.  Do specify 2 x 16 GB configuration to ensure that you'll have a pair of free slots for future expansion.

 

Just my 2 cents. 

 

______________________________________________
P70, Xeon 1505 CPU, 64 GB ECC RAM, Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB + 512 GB NVMe Drives, 1 TB HDD, DVD-RW, 4 K Display, NVIDIA Quadro M4000
W700 model 2757-CTO (8 GB RAM, Crucial MX-100 SSD + Hitachi TravelStar 1 TB 7200 RPM Drives, Bluray R/W, NVIDIA Quadro FX3700M, WUXGA); Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, W700 Mini-Dock
Reply
Options

3815 Posts

12-02-2007

US

9029 Signins

188553 Page Views

  • Posts: 3815
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 188553
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: Ought I to get 32GB of RAM?

2016-09-29, 7:55 AM

Hello,

 

I would suggest using the ThinkPad P50 and see how it performs with whatever RAM you ordered (or have installed yourself).  If you determine that more RAM is needed for your use cases, add it.  Unused RAM is wasted RAM, though, so you might want to wait until you find yourself coming against memory limitations, or the price of the RAM you wish to purchase goes does, and so forth.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP72 (20MB-*)P50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Język Polski    Moto English


Need an answer, fast? Try using Browser Search to find it in the Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

349 Posts

02-19-2015

US

472 Signins

4603 Page Views

  • Posts: 349
  • Registered: ‎02-19-2015
  • Location: US
  • Views: 4603
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: Ought I to get 32GB of RAM?

2016-10-02, 21:46 PM

Thank you both very much!  I really appreciate all of your (and everybody's) time and advice.

Because of the price and my budget, I went with 1x16 GB. If I need more later, I'll get it then. 


wrote:

Don't underestimate the value of a fully supported machine with a known-good configuration.  If you can put the memory to good use (and can afford it), go for it.  Do specify 2 x 16 GB configuration to ensure that you'll have a pair of free slots for future expansion.


Unfortunately, 2x16 is not a web option for US customers. I'd would have had to move to a WE country (and change my $ into € ;) ) to get that setup.

-----------IBM T40: XP PRO SP3, 14.1" 4:3 display, 512MB DDR RAM, 40GB HDD, ThinkLight, DVD.
Lenovo Ideacentre H215: AMD Athlon II X2 215, 500GB HDD, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 64-bit Win7, AMD 760G.
P50 i7, M2000M, 1x16GB RAM, 1080p, 512GB SSD, 500GB HDD, Backlight, 7Pro.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete