Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mfulton95
Blue Screen Again
Views: 873
Message 1 of 9

P1 vs. P52 questions

Hello,

I am looking at getting either the P1 or P52 and have some questions. I will not be using it for a lot of graphics. I work in IT support, so will be using it for VM's, remote desktop, etc. I'm coming from a P50. Cost is not an issue, as the machine ib being purchased by my employer. 

1. How does the battery life compare on these machines? I won't need the 4K display, which I know causes faster battery drain. 

2. I am looking at either the I7-8850 or the Xeon CPU. Which is recommended in terms of performance? I know the I7 allows for the upgraded GPU, but that is not a huge concern for my use case, as I won't be doing gaming or video editing.

3. I know there were some reports of heating and fan noise issues with the P1. Have these been resolved?

4. Are there any advantages to 1 machine over the other? 

5. I know the P53 and P1 Gen2 are not currently in stock. Are there any advantages to the newer machines when compared to the older ones besides graphics?

6. I read that the keyboard on the P52 was changed and that some of the keys near the enter key were made smaller. How annoying is this? 

Thanks,

Mike

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Views: 851
Message 2 of 9

Re: P1 vs. P52 questions

The big differences are size and weight vs. upgrade options.  The P52 has 4 memory slots vs. 2 on the P1.  DIMMS can be up to 32GB each.