Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Paper Tape
Message 1 of 10 (2,028 Views)

P40 Yoga issues

So i recieved my P40 Yoga a few days back. Installed Photoshop, Sketchbook and a few other painting softwares to test the capabilites. I was planning on using the P40 primarily for digital painting because I work as an illustrator.

First issue:

Touch and pen does not work together. In software like Photoshop this is extremly impractical. Like when you need to press a button in Photoshop with touch, you actually have to lift the pen off the screen before the touch reactivates. Would it not be possible to have touch available just for the left hand? And not for the right hand where you hold the pen. This may sound like a minor issue, but it gimps my workflow and especially the speed.

Second issue:

Painting and drawing with the pen works great, but in the mode where I rotate the screen almost 360 degrees, which is called the tablet mode, the pen cursor starts jumping all around. This happens only in this mode.

Because of these issues I will most likely send the P40 back. Hopefully these issues are easy to fix, so I can avoid that. And ideas? Help is much appreciated!

SuperMod
Message 2 of 10 (1,925 Views)

Re: P40 Yoga issues

Sorry to hear the pen/touch interface isn't working well for you.

Have you considered pressing buttons with the stylus itself rather than your left hand? Which buttons are you intending to push with a finger in PS while the pen is still in use?

The challenge for any tablet digitizer is allowing the user to keep their hand(s) on the screen while drawing/illustrating while knowing that a hand or finger shouldn't be registered. If tablets worked the way you were describing then there would be more chance for accidental, erroneous input from the user.