cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Gateman
Token Ring
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎03-15-2016
Location: US
Views: 816
Message 1 of 17

P50 BIOS v1.19 Erroneously Shows ECC Memory Is Installed

I've had my new P50 for a week now. I ordered it with 64 GB of non-ECC memory.  I was looking in the BIOS this evening and saw that it shows I have 64 GB of EEC memory.  Which is odd because I didn't order ECC memory. 

 

Here is how it shows in the BIOS:

"Installed Memory                                           65536MB (with ECC)"

 

Here is a screenshot of the actual BIOS Page

 

I downloaded and ran 'Speccy' and got my RAM Part Numbers.  A search on web verified that I do NOT have ECC memory installed.

 

I'm thinking it's a glitch in the BIOS or maybe hard coded by accident.  It isn't affecting anything and my laptop runs fantastic. 

 

I am interested to know if anyone sees "(with ECC)" in the BIOS and has non-ECC installed.

 

Mike  

 

Edited to add link to screenshot of actual BIOS Page

Guru
Posts: 1,815
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: US
Views: 775
Message 2 of 17

Re: P50 BIOS v1.19 Erroneously Shows ECC Memory Is Installed

What are the part numbers and brand of the memory?


P70 XEON 1505, BIOS 2.31, UHD 4k Display, 64GB non-ECC RAM, M3000M NVIDIA GPU, RAID 1 512GB Samsung 951 PCIe-NVMe SSD x 2, 2x Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD. EM7455 WWAN
P1. BIOS 1.23,Xeon Processor, 32GB, PM981 1TB x 2, RAID 1
T470s, 16GB RAM, BIOS 1.10, i7-7500, WQHD display, 512GB PM961 PCIe NVMe SSD
Gateman
Token Ring
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎03-15-2016
Location: US
Views: 760
Message 3 of 17

Re: P50 BIOS v1.19 Erroneously Shows ECC Memory Is Installed

Number Of SPD Modules 4
 Slot #1
  Type Unknown
  Size 16384 MBytes
  Manufacturer Hyundai Electronics
  Max Bandwidth DDR4-2133 (1066 MHz)
  Part Number HMA82GS6MFR8N-TF
  Serial Number 2437271928
  Week/year 04 / 16

 

URL Link to Memory 4Less spec page

URL Link to Manufacturer's Data Sheet

 

I see you have ECC memory installed.  What are the part numbers and brand of the memory in your Laptop?

 

Mike

Guru
Posts: 1,815
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: US
Views: 745
Message 4 of 17

Re: P50 BIOS v1.19 Erroneously Shows ECC Memory Is Installed

The data sheet shows that the Hynix memory can support ECC. For example:

 

HMA81GS7MFR8N-TF/UH 8GB 1Gx72 1Gxx8(H5AN8G8NMFR)*9 (This one does)

 

HMA81GS6MFR8N-TF/UH 8GB 1Gx64 1Gx8(H5AN8G8NMFR)*8  (This one does not)

 

I'll post later for my installed memory p/n but it is Hynix.

 

 


P70 XEON 1505, BIOS 2.31, UHD 4k Display, 64GB non-ECC RAM, M3000M NVIDIA GPU, RAID 1 512GB Samsung 951 PCIe-NVMe SSD x 2, 2x Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD. EM7455 WWAN
P1. BIOS 1.23,Xeon Processor, 32GB, PM981 1TB x 2, RAID 1
T470s, 16GB RAM, BIOS 1.10, i7-7500, WQHD display, 512GB PM961 PCIe NVMe SSD
Gateman
Token Ring
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎03-15-2016
Location: US
Views: 722
Message 5 of 17

Re: P50 BIOS v1.19 Erroneously Shows ECC Memory Is Installed


@harrisb wrote:

The data sheet shows that the Hynix memory can support ECC. For example:...

 

 


Yes, that is true, but for clarification and to avoid confusion, the memory installed in my laptop is:

 

Part Number: HMA82GS6MFR8N-TF

 

These are 16GB of NON-ECC memory per the spec. All 4 of my memory modules show the same part number.

 

If anyone would like to check the part number of their installed RAM, here is a link to download the free version of Speccy.  NOTE: The installer will also install "CCleaner" unless you manually uncheck that option.

 

If posting that link to Speccy is against Forum rules, I apoligize in advance.

 

Mike 

duxlubber
Punch Card
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-04-2016
Location: US
Views: 693
Message 6 of 17

Re: P50 BIOS v1.19 Erroneously Shows ECC Memory Is Installed

How ironic! Many of us are waiting on some/any official word from Lenovo if our machines will ever work with ECC with parts that came from Lenovo, fully paid to support ECC.

Gateman
Token Ring
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎03-15-2016
Location: US
Views: 680
Message 7 of 17

Re: P50 BIOS v1.19 Erroneously Shows ECC Memory Is Installed

 


@duxlubber wrote:

How ironic! Many of us are waiting on some/any official word from Lenovo if our machines will ever work with ECC with parts that came from Lenovo, fully paid to support ECC.


Can you tell me what BIOS version you're running and if it shows "(with ECC)" for the installed memory?

 

Thanks,

Mike

duxlubber
Punch Card
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-04-2016
Location: US
Views: 670
Message 8 of 17

Re: P50 BIOS v1.19 Erroneously Shows ECC Memory Is Installed

Bios 1.19. Does NOT show ECC installed even though I purchased the XEON with 16gb ECC. Also, the ECC is not working as can be seen at the command prompt (Windows) by entering: wmic memorychip get datawidth, totalwidth. If you have dual channel memory going you'll see totalwidth exactly double datawidth. If you have ECC active you will see 8bits extra per channel in the totalwidth.

tk-don
Token Ring
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎01-30-2016
Location: Denmark
Views: 658
Message 9 of 17

Re: P50 BIOS v1.19 Erroneously Shows ECC Memory Is Installed

Just for the record, I'm in the exact same boat as Duxlubber. 2x16 GB DDR4-2133 ECC memory factory installed by Lenovo - Part number is M474A2K43BB1-CPB manufactured by Samsung.. No hint of ECC in BIOS, regardless of if it is version 1.15 or 1.19. This issue is apparently known and worked on for some time by now. I'm awaiting a fix and PROOF FROM LENOVO THAT ECC IS WORKING AND NOT JUST DETECTED.

 

But thanks for the good laugh. IF you defintely don't have memory modules with ECC support, their detection mechanism is apparently flawed and shows that it definitely doesn't determine that ECC is working.

Gateman
Token Ring
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎03-15-2016
Location: US
Views: 654
Message 10 of 17

Re: P50 BIOS v1.19 Erroneously Shows ECC Memory Is Installed


@duxlubber wrote:

Bios 1.19. Does NOT show ECC installed even though I purchased the XEON with 16gb ECC. Also, the ECC is not working as can be seen at the command prompt (Windows) by entering: wmic memorychip get datawidth, totalwidth. If you have dual channel memory going you'll see totalwidth exactly double datawidth. If you have ECC active you will see 8bits extra per channel in the totalwidth.


Interesting.  That command shows, as expected, that I don't have ECC memory.  Also, since you don't display "(with ECC)" in your BIOS, I can cross it off as  being hard coded.

 

Thank you,
Mike

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors