Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kalyanmudi
Punch Card
Views: 3,209
Message 1 of 5

P50 doesn't wake up from sleep

Hello,

I have been using this new machine for last 2 months and am experiencing this issue from time to time. When I don't work on the laptop, I just close the lid. After some time, I see that the red led light on the lid goes blinking on slow pace - that tells me the machine has gone into sleep mode. Now, when I come back to the machine later, usually I see either the red led is still blinking or completely gone off. I open the lid, the machine wakes up and I can start working on.

However, at times, when I come back, I see that the red led on the lid is constantly on. In those occasions, when I open the lid, the machine doesn't "wake up". I see that the greed led on the power button is constantly on - so that kind of indicates that the machine IS probably awake. But, the screen is black/empty as if its still sleeping. In these situations, I normally end up with force restarting the machine - making me to reopen all the  applications once again, if not loosing some work/data.

Is there anywya I can tweak any setting or follow any best practice - that can prevent this issue from re-ocurring?

Thank you very much in advance for your suggestions.

kalyanmudi
Punch Card
Views: 3,105
Message 2 of 5

Re: P50 doesn't wake up from sleep

So, I posted this in reddit today as well and I was suggested to disable "Intel Rapid Start Technology" in BIOS. The reason was that - some of my outdated driver could be causing my machine to fail to wake up from deep sleep (caused by iRST).

I can't seem to find iRST in BIOS. I tried to look for it in Config->Power section but I see a configuration for Intel SpeedStep technology or something like. Do you know if its the same?

On a different note - I use "system update" lenovo utility to make sure drivers are updated. Is this utility not fully effective?

rastus81
Fanfold Paper
Views: 3,060
Message 3 of 5