cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Guru
Posts: 2,036
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: US
Views: 1,003
Message 1 of 20

P70 - Xrite can't recallibrate my 4K display

I'm getting the following message when I try to recalibrate my 4k display on my P70. Where is the utility to reset the database? I cannot locate it on the support website.

 

xrite.JPG

 

 

Moderator comment: Model added to subject for clarity.


P53 XEON 2276 BIOS 1.16 OLED UHD 4K Multi-touch display, 96GB RAM, RTX5000, RAID 1, 1TB x 2 Samsung PM981, 1TB PM981, WWAN
P70 XEON 1505, BIOS 2.32, 4k Display, 64GB, M3000M NVIDIA GPU, RAID1 1TB Samsung PM981 PCIe-NVMe SSD x 2, 2x Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD. EM7455 WWAN
P1. BIOS 1.24,Xeon Processor, 32GB, PM981 1TB x 2, RAID1
T470s, 16GB RAM, BIOS 1.10, i7-7500, WQHD display, 512GB PM961 PCIe NVMe SSD
Guru
Posts: 2,036
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: US
Views: 908
Message 2 of 20

Re: P70 - Xrite can't recallibrate my 4K display

Anyone else see this??


P53 XEON 2276 BIOS 1.16 OLED UHD 4K Multi-touch display, 96GB RAM, RTX5000, RAID 1, 1TB x 2 Samsung PM981, 1TB PM981, WWAN
P70 XEON 1505, BIOS 2.32, 4k Display, 64GB, M3000M NVIDIA GPU, RAID1 1TB Samsung PM981 PCIe-NVMe SSD x 2, 2x Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD. EM7455 WWAN
P1. BIOS 1.24,Xeon Processor, 32GB, PM981 1TB x 2, RAID1
T470s, 16GB RAM, BIOS 1.10, i7-7500, WQHD display, 512GB PM961 PCIe NVMe SSD
archon810
HDMI
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎08-23-2009
Location: US
Views: 901
Message 3 of 20

Re: P70 - Xrite can't recallibrate my 4K display

The utility comes bundled with Pantone/Xrite software. It's already installed for you.

 

But I am willing to bet it won't work, just like it hasn't for me. You'll need to reinstall the whole Pantone software package to re-run calibration, and it'll work again one more time if you're lucky. 

 

It's one of the reasons I'm returning my P50 https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkPad-P-and-W-Series-Mobile/Why-I-m-returning-the-4K-P50-with-great-...

Guru
Posts: 2,036
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: US
Views: 894
Message 4 of 20

Re: P70 - Xrite can't recallibrate my 4K display

OK, where is the utility?? I don't see it in the X-Rite directory. Only the sensor replacement utility is there.


P53 XEON 2276 BIOS 1.16 OLED UHD 4K Multi-touch display, 96GB RAM, RTX5000, RAID 1, 1TB x 2 Samsung PM981, 1TB PM981, WWAN
P70 XEON 1505, BIOS 2.32, 4k Display, 64GB, M3000M NVIDIA GPU, RAID1 1TB Samsung PM981 PCIe-NVMe SSD x 2, 2x Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD. EM7455 WWAN
P1. BIOS 1.24,Xeon Processor, 32GB, PM981 1TB x 2, RAID1
T470s, 16GB RAM, BIOS 1.10, i7-7500, WQHD display, 512GB PM961 PCIe NVMe SSD
archon810
HDMI
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎08-23-2009
Location: US
Views: 892
Message 5 of 20

Re: P70 - Xrite can't recallibrate my 4K display

That's the one, as far as I remember.

Guru
Posts: 2,036
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: US
Views: 885
Message 6 of 20

Re: P70 - Xrite can't recallibrate my 4K display

OK, ran it. Looks like the panel is not in the mapping database!

 

Xrite_monitor_mapping.JPG

 

OK, where is the correct file??


P53 XEON 2276 BIOS 1.16 OLED UHD 4K Multi-touch display, 96GB RAM, RTX5000, RAID 1, 1TB x 2 Samsung PM981, 1TB PM981, WWAN
P70 XEON 1505, BIOS 2.32, 4k Display, 64GB, M3000M NVIDIA GPU, RAID1 1TB Samsung PM981 PCIe-NVMe SSD x 2, 2x Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD. EM7455 WWAN
P1. BIOS 1.24,Xeon Processor, 32GB, PM981 1TB x 2, RAID1
T470s, 16GB RAM, BIOS 1.10, i7-7500, WQHD display, 512GB PM961 PCIe NVMe SSD
archon810
HDMI
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎08-23-2009
Location: US
Views: 882
Message 7 of 20

Re: P70 - Xrite can't recallibrate my 4K display

Exactly what I was talking about. It won't run unless you reinstall the whole Pantone/Xrite program. It's garbage.

Guru
Posts: 2,036
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: US
Views: 867
Message 8 of 20

Re: P70 - Xrite can't recallibrate my 4K display

 Lenovo hasn't updated the panel mapping database AND the panel is reporting an ID of "@@@0000" !! When I added that to the database, the sensor utility was ready to run w/o errors (I didn't launch it however). The issue is that the LEN4123 panel parameters have to be put into the XRITE database.

 

Perhaps there is a software update that has not been released? However, I haven't seen any update since 2011. Smiley Happy As of this writing, the calibration software is non-functional after the first calibration (which also looks odd in results).

 

 


P53 XEON 2276 BIOS 1.16 OLED UHD 4K Multi-touch display, 96GB RAM, RTX5000, RAID 1, 1TB x 2 Samsung PM981, 1TB PM981, WWAN
P70 XEON 1505, BIOS 2.32, 4k Display, 64GB, M3000M NVIDIA GPU, RAID1 1TB Samsung PM981 PCIe-NVMe SSD x 2, 2x Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD. EM7455 WWAN
P1. BIOS 1.24,Xeon Processor, 32GB, PM981 1TB x 2, RAID1
T470s, 16GB RAM, BIOS 1.10, i7-7500, WQHD display, 512GB PM961 PCIe NVMe SSD
Lenovo Employee Vinsu1
Lenovo Employee
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-15-2016
Location: United States
Views: 829
Message 9 of 20

Re: P70 - Xrite can't recallibrate my 4K display

Guru
Posts: 2,036
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: US
Views: 814
Message 10 of 20

Re: P70 - Xrite can't recallibrate my 4K display

Video driver is correct. The panel is not defined in the xrite database as well. I can see it properly in the device manager and in the hardware I'd.

P53 XEON 2276 BIOS 1.16 OLED UHD 4K Multi-touch display, 96GB RAM, RTX5000, RAID 1, 1TB x 2 Samsung PM981, 1TB PM981, WWAN
P70 XEON 1505, BIOS 2.32, 4k Display, 64GB, M3000M NVIDIA GPU, RAID1 1TB Samsung PM981 PCIe-NVMe SSD x 2, 2x Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD. EM7455 WWAN
P1. BIOS 1.24,Xeon Processor, 32GB, PM981 1TB x 2, RAID1
T470s, 16GB RAM, BIOS 1.10, i7-7500, WQHD display, 512GB PM961 PCIe NVMe SSD

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors