cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
danielpoveda49
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-27-2017
Location: EC
Views: 4,074
Message 1 of 8

Problem with solidworks

I have a Lenovo Thinkpad P40 yoga with an intelcore i7  6500u processor, 8gb Ram, NVIDIA quadro M500M and Windows 10 pro 64x. I bought this laptop to be able to work with Solidworks, I downloaded Solidworks 2017 and it is slow, it lags a lot. Can you help me with this? Do you know why this is happening?

 

Also, I noticed that my laptop was not able to install the graphics driver. Maybe this has something to do with solidworks not working correctly? I Attached a picture

 

I will appreciate some help with this situation.

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 3,772
Registered: ‎12-24-2015
Location: IN
Views: 4,019
Message 2 of 8

Re: Problem with solidworks

Hi there, Daniel                       -

 

Thank you for writing in to the Lenovo Forum - happy to have you here today.

 

Go to Startup Programs and see if there is something weird there. Something that doesn’t have a manufacturer or a proper certificate. You can post a screenshot if you find something unusual.

 

About running a program on NVIDIA GPU. As the other person said,

1) Right click and open NVIDIA Control Panel

2) Go to 3D settings>> Program Settings.

3) Select CAD exe file from the drop down.

4) Set CUDA GPUs value to NVIDIA GPU.

5) Save and Apply and test the application.

 

Download CPU HWMonitor, install and run it and monitor your GPU, CPU and Disk usage when you are using CAD.

 

Update us how it goes.

 

 

 

Regards,         

 

Tap that kudos button if I helped 
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"

danielpoveda49
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-27-2017
Location: EC
Views: 3,967
Message 3 of 8

Re: Problem with solidworks

Hello,

 

No I cant get it fixed. 

wHAT DO YOU MEAN BY GOING TO STARTUP PROGRAMS? I LOOKED THROUGH THE PROGRAMS ON STARTUP AND EVERYTHING SEEMS FINE, I LOOKED THROUGH CONTROL PANEL- PROGRAMS A FEATURES AND EVERYTHING LOOKED FINE TOO, NOTHING WEIRD ONLY  A BONJOUR APP FROM APPLE INC, A VULKAN RUN TIME LIBRARIES FROM LUNARG INC, A PDFCREATOR FROM FRANK HEINDORFER,PHILIP CHINERY BUT THAT SHOULD BE NOTHING. I ALSO TRIED AND FOLLOW THE STEPS FOR RUNNING A PROGRAM ON NVIDIA GPU AND IDK IF IM DOIND STEP #4 THE RIGHT WAY SINCE AFTER SELECTING THE CAD EXE FILE FROM THE SCROLL DOWN I CAN SELECT THE PREFERRED GRAPHICS PROCESSOR FOR THIS PROGRAM AND THE OPTIONS ARE AUTO SELECTES (NVIDIA GPU), HIGH PERFORMANCE NVIDIA PROCESSOR O INTEGRATED GRAPHICS, I BELIEVE I COULD PICK BETWEEN THE FIRST TWO PREFERABLY HIGH PERFORMANCE NVIDIA PROCESSOR RIGHT?( I TRIED BOTH). THEN  THERE IS A SCROLL DOWN TO SPECIFY THE SETTINGS FOR FOR THE PROGRAM I SELECTED  AND A BUCNH OF FEATURES, ONE OF THEM IS CUDA-GPUS WHERE THE SETTING IS SET AS USE GLOBAL SETTING (ALL), IF I CLICK ON THAT THERE ARE TWO OPTIONS, ONE WHICH IS USE GLOBAL SETTING AND THE OTHER ONE WHICH IS USE THESE GPUS, IS THAT WHAT I NEED TO CHANGE OR NOT?.

I INSIST, ONTHE INSTALLATINS HISTROY WHEN I RUN MY COMPUTER THE INTEL GRAPHICS DRIVER 10 [64] - V.21.20.16.4550 FAILED TO INSTALL AND IDK WHY.

danielpoveda49
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-27-2017
Location: EC
Views: 3,948
Message 4 of 8

Re: Problem with solidworks

There is another thing, the solidworks that I used is cracked. so I dont know if that could be a problem too.

danielpoveda49
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-27-2017
Location: EC
Views: 3,910
Message 5 of 8

Re: Problem with solidworks

Please someone help me out.

rvcjew
802.11n
Posts: 309
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Location: US
Views: 3,901
Message 6 of 8

Re: Problem with solidworks

Being Cracked it will propably have issues, but your CPU is only dual core and the GPU your using is only quivlant of a GTX 930M which is not very powerfull. You could try right clickng the shortcut for solidworks and pick use high performance adpater for gpu use.

 

Malcolm

 

EDIT: put your pc in this page and you will see what driver you should be running and what it should be be able to handle.

https://www.solidworks.com/sw/support/videocardtesting.html

I own a Y510p SLI (retired), Yoga 2 Pro, P50 4K, X1C5
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,340
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: US
Views: 3,889
Message 7 of 8

Re: Problem with solidworks

Hello,

 

Unfortunately, I don't know if anyone can help you.

 

Since you are using a pirated copy of Solidworks, no one can really tell what it does or how it is supposed to behave.  Maybe what you are experiencing is the normal and expected behavior when using a pirated copy--the crack does something which changes how the software works.  Or maybe it isn't.  But it is unlikely that no one other than whomever originally cracked the software knows how it should behave.  I don't think anyone from Lenovo will be able to answer that, because they cannot install pirated software in order to troubleshoot a problem with it.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP72 (20MB-*)P50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Język Polski    Moto English

alaahesham
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-23-2017
Location: EG
Views: 3,387
Message 8 of 8

Re: Problem with solidworks

I had the same problem and here is the solution 

From device manager 

go to device adaptors

R-click on NVIDIA GEFORCE

choose disable and Solidworks will be quick and fine 

it takes me alot of time to solve the problem ..

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors