cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Morland
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎12-26-2008
Location: Bedford England
Views: 3,161
Message 1 of 14

RAID 0 Data Request failing on Intel(r) Matrix Storage Console - Which drive is port 0?

Good Morning. I have a W700 runnning two Seagate Momentus 7200.4 500GB 2.5'' SATA Internal Hard Drives in a RAID0.

 

Of late I have been getting messages from the Storage Console application that "some data request to the drive have failed". Yet it appears ti be up & running.

Everything is backed up in several off pc locations.

However my question is which physical drive is it?

 

The problem is reported on Port 0 - but is this the drive nearest the back of the unit or the one nearest the front as you are using the machine (i.e. Keyboard facing up)?

 

Any help on this point very welcome indeed.

Many thanks

Aboulafia
Serial Port
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎08-03-2008
Location: Saint-Martin - Guadeloupe (GMT -4)
Views: 3,151
Message 2 of 14

Re: RAID 0 Data Request failing on Intel(r) Matrix Storage Console - Which drive is port 0?

Hello,

 

Why do you want to know wich drive failed ?

 

In Raid0, you can't change a drive and get your data back.

 

If it's an hardrive hardware problem it's better to use the constructor soft to check it (take a look at seagate.com) and check the two drive hardware integrity. Robot tongue

T61P 6460DVU - XP PRO - 3 Gb ram - 320 Gb Hd - 15,4" display
W700 27584SU - SEVEN PRO - 4 Gb ram - 2x320 Gb hd raid 0 - 17" display
SuperMod
SuperMod
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: US
Views: 3,131
Message 3 of 14

Re: RAID 0 Data Request failing on Intel(r) Matrix Storage Console - Which drive is port 0?


Morland wrote:

The problem is reported on Port 0 - but is this the drive nearest the back of the unit or the one nearest the front as you are using the machine (i.e. Keyboard facing up)?


the drive in the front is 1, back is 0.   you'll see that they're labeled when you remove the access door.

 

but, as Aboulafia said, a failed drive in a RAID 0 environment means your entire array will be destroyed.   if you find that the drive in port 0 is indeed failing, i suggest backing up your data (hopefully you do this already) and contacting seagate's warranty department.

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

LeeDeYoung
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-06-2009
Location: US
Views: 3,088
Message 4 of 14

Re: RAID 0 Data Request failing on Intel(r) Matrix Storage Console - Which drive is port 0?

I am considering upgrading my W700's Raid0 array from its factory pair of 5400 rpm 320gb drives to a new pair of 7200 rpm 500gb Seagates.   How long has your 2x500gb setup been working?  (I wondered whether two such drives might overheat the W700 since it's not a configuration Lenovo offers.

W700 2757-CTO - Vista Business x64 - 4gb - 2x320gb hd raid 0 - 17in display
LeeDeYoung
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-06-2009
Location: US
Views: 3,110
Message 5 of 14

Re: RAID 0 Data Request failing on Intel(r) Matrix Storage Console - Which drive is port 0?

Can a W700 reliably handle two 500gb 7200 SATA hard drives in a raid 0 configuration?  I am considering upgrading to this hardware when upgrading OS to Windows 7 x64.

 

Thanks.

W700 2757-CTO - Vista Business x64 - 4gb - 2x320gb hd raid 0 - 17in display
LeeDeYoung
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-06-2009
Location: US
Views: 2,934
Message 6 of 14

Re: RAID 0 Data Request failing on Intel(r) Matrix Storage Console - Which drive is port 0?

I posted this question  here on 06-Oct. Still no response or any further posts to this area. Some response would be appreciated!

 

Can a W700 reliably handle two 500gb 7200 SATA hard drives in a raid 0 configuration?  I am considering upgrading to this hardware when upgrading OS to Windows 7 x64.

 

Thanks.

W700 2757-CTO - Vista Business x64 - 4gb - 2x320gb hd raid 0 - 17in display
Morland
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎12-26-2008
Location: Bedford England
Views: 2,881
Message 7 of 14

Re: RAID 0 Data Request failing on Intel(r) Matrix Storage Console - Which drive is port 0?

Thank  you gentlemen for the advice.  Intel Raid Management on boot threw an error showing the serial number of the drive. I used that to pull the drive, wipe it & return it to Seagate tech & have a newly delivered drive ready to start a clean install.

Everything is on multiple backups (that I do test) on 3 separate drives as I a paranoid in this area. However I must say the OS Vista 64 has been remarkably stable in comparison to Xp on a Z61 that needed rebuild every 3 months.

 

I tend to Max out the unit at every sensible opportunity as it is so flexible. If the 1TB 2.5 inch drives were at 7200rpm rather than 5000 I would have 2 of those. Cooling is not an issue.

 

Feel free to install larger drives (currently the Seagate Momentus 500GB 7200 RPM drive seem the most appropriate to date) & enjoy 1TB on C (with 500GB on d (Second HDD adapter)).

 

Many thanks for the comment re location of the drives. Very helpful but then I do alot of things with my eyes closed these days. Smiley Very Happy

Kindest regards

M

LeeDeYoung
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-06-2009
Location: US
Views: 2,529
Message 8 of 14

Re: RAID 0 Data Request failing on Intel(r) Matrix Storage Console - Which drive is port 0?

Thanks for sharing your advice about a Seagate 500gb Momentus drive RAID in a W700.

W700 2757-CTO - Vista Business x64 - 4gb - 2x320gb hd raid 0 - 17in display
Highlighted
muol
Token Ring
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎12-10-2008
Location: US
Views: 2,514
Message 9 of 14

Re: RAID 0 Data Request failing on Intel(r) Matrix Storage Console - Which drive is port 0?

 


@LeeDeYoung wrote:

I posted this question  here on 06-Oct. Still no response or any further posts to this area. Some response would be appreciated!

 

Can a W700 reliably handle two 500gb 7200 SATA hard drives in a raid 0 configuration?  I am considering upgrading to this hardware when upgrading OS to Windows 7 x64.

 


 

Those Seagate 500GB 7200 drives aren't known to be reliable, just look up the customer reviews on newegg. Since Seagate is the only manufacturer offering this particular drive type I would guess that the high data density (250GB / platter) causes significant problems at this rotation speed. In general however the W700 is specified to handle a 7200 RAID0. If you're up 7200 drives just for performance reasons you might consider the new WD 640GB Scorpio Blue instead. The 320GB / platter data density of these drives should easily compensate for the lower rotation speed of 5400 RPM. I'm currently using a RAID0 of these WDs in my W700 without any problems at appealing performance.

 

hazart
WWAN
Posts: 386
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
Location: UK
Views: 2,499
Message 10 of 14

Re: RAID 0 Data Request failing on Intel(r) Matrix Storage Console - Which drive is port 0?

 


@muol wrote:

 


@LeeDeYoung wrote:

I posted this question  here on 06-Oct. Still no response or any further posts to this area. Some response would be appreciated!

 

Can a W700 reliably handle two 500gb 7200 SATA hard drives in a raid 0 configuration?  I am considering upgrading to this hardware when upgrading OS to Windows 7 x64.

 


 

Those Seagate 500GB 7200 drives aren't known to be reliable, just look up the customer reviews on newegg. Since Seagate is the only manufacturer offering this particular drive type I would guess that the high data density (250GB / platter) causes significant problems at this rotation speed. In general however the W700 is specified to handle a 7200 RAID0. If you're up 7200 drives just for performance reasons you might consider the new WD 640GB Scorpio Blue instead. The 320GB / platter data density of these drives should easily compensate for the lower rotation speed of 5400 RPM. I'm currently using a RAID0 of these WDs in my W700 without any problems at appealing performance.

 


 

Thanks for the suggestion, muol. Would you mind running an ATTO Disk Benchmark on your current RAID0 setup and share the results with us W700 users? You can download the latest Disk Benchmark Tool (v2.43) from the official ATTO website: http://www.attotech.com/software/files/drivers/Benchmark.zip

 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors