cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
FunkMaster007
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-22-2011
Location: UK
Views: 3,641
Message 1 of 42

Resuming from Sleep

Hello All,
 
I have this seriously irritating issue, when I resume my W510 with Windows 7 from sleep, it prompts me with an error:
 
Problem Ejecting HITACHI HTS725050A9A364
 
The device is currently in use. Close any programs or windows that might be using the device, and then try again.
 
 
----
The device in question is a 500GB 2.5" HDD slotted into a caddy case that has replaced my DVD Drive.
It seems that when I put the PC to sleep or resume from sleep (not sure which order), Windows wants to eject it.

Any thoughts?
Vince69
Bit Torrent
Posts: 1,213
Registered: ‎12-24-2010
Location: Perth, Australia
Views: 3,594
Message 2 of 42

Re: Resuming from Sleep

Hello mate,

 

Have a look in power manager and check if Automatic optical drive power off is disabled. If it's enabled power manager switch off the ultrabay.

 

Just a thought...

__________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.


ThinkPad T510 4313-CTO Windows 8 x64 - Intel Core i7-620M - NVIDIA NVS 3100M - 8GB RAM - 240GB SSD- Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 - Gobi 2000.
ThinkPad Helix 3697-CTO Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i7-3667U - Intel HD Graphics 4000 - 8GB RAM- 256GB SSD - Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 - Ericsson C5621gw

hazart
WWAN
Posts: 386
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
Location: UK
Views: 3,593
Message 3 of 42

Re: Resuming from Sleep

With an SSD in the Bay Adapter running Windows 7 on it, I'm having this problem, too. Since I hadn't used sleep/resume for a while, I didn't know when it started to happen. It didn't happen before and it could be due to a driver update, which I don't have time to look into yet.

RealTime2112
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Views: 3,492
Message 4 of 42

Re: Resuming from Sleep

I have the same issue with my Thinkpad W520 and HITACHI HTS725050A9A364.  I'm using the Intel Rapid Storage drivers. 

 

It happens every time I resume from sleep.  I also have an external HDD that I use for backup.  It also exhibits the problem when I attempt to safely disconnect the drive.  Could this mean the probelm is associated with the Intel drivers?

 

Has anyone found a solution to this?

shan_mcarthur
Token Ring
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
Location: Regina, SK Canada
Views: 3,459
Message 5 of 42

Re: Resuming from Sleep

You have to purchase an ultra bay adapter from a third party.  The adapter that Lenovo sells doesn't fit the W510/W520 and leaves room for the drive to move around.  The drive moves and temporarily disconnects and that is why you are getting the error message.  Since I have switched to a third party drive bay I have never had this problem.

 

Lenovo should hang its head in shame - this is a known problem for more than a year and yet we still don't have a properly engineered ultrabay adapter for the laptops.  It is a real shame!

cac303
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-22-2011
Location: Atlanta
Views: 3,410
Message 6 of 42

Re: Resuming from Sleep

While you may be right about the third-party versus Lenovo provided adapter, the problem isn't being caused by physical movement. I hav emy lenovo sitting flat on a desk. If I go into and out of suspend, easy eject tries to disconnect the device. If you go back in and out of suspend, it will detect the device again and the drive reappears. This happens every suspend / hibernation event.  Very annoying.

 

I have a ticket in with Lenovo to get this fixed, but am not hopeful.

 

In the meantime, if a third-party drive bay fixed the issue for you, can you share the link to it please?

 

Thanks,

jwijnings
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Location: Netherlands
Views: 3,309
Message 7 of 42

Re: Resuming from Sleep

Did you get any response to your ticket?

andrewjknox
Paper Tape
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-18-2011
Location: United Kingdom
Views: 3,192
Message 8 of 42

Re: Resuming from Sleep

Bump. I'm getting this issue too. Got an SSD in a 3rd party caddy (one that fits). Any ideas?
Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 3,187
Message 9 of 42

Re: Resuming from Sleep

Which OS are you running?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
ThorsHammer
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,423
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Location: US
Views: 3,187
Message 10 of 42

Re: Resuming from Sleep

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors