English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

3290 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3290
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 11 of 86

Re: System Cannot Identify 4G RAM

2008-09-30, 5:55 AM
So if i was to install say 4 gig in my Laptop and use XP pro 32 bit, is it possible to remap the hypermemory of ATI cards to the 1 gig of leftover/extra space???
Reply
Options

30 Posts

09-26-2008

Canada

47 Signins

480 Page Views

  • Posts: 30
  • Registered: ‎09-26-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 480
  • Message 12 of 86

Re: System Cannot Identify 4G RAM

2008-09-30, 6:03 AM

it's simple, 32bits = 2GB RAM max. No matter how hard you want it to be different.

 

That tweak about 3GB of ram is just that, a tweak. And as tweaks sometimes spell problems, this one is no different.

Reply
Options

3290 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3290
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 13 of 86

Re: System Cannot Identify 4G RAM

2008-09-30, 6:06 AM
i am pretty sure 32 bit OS can address 3 gig of ram.
Reply
Options

30 Posts

09-26-2008

Canada

47 Signins

480 Page Views

  • Posts: 30
  • Registered: ‎09-26-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 480
  • Message 14 of 86

Re: System Cannot Identify 4G RAM

2008-09-30, 6:20 AM

Yes it can, but as stated earlier it's a tweak; a hidden setting. Hidden settings are hidden for a reason. It's been observed already that this tweak may sometimes give problems.

 

Point is; Windows 32 bits handles 2GB of ram.

Message Edited by chibislick on 09-29-2008 11:22 PM
Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

US

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 15 of 86

Re: System Cannot Identify 4G RAM

2008-09-30, 6:30 AM

wjli2 wrote:
i am pretty sure 32 bit OS can address 3 gig of ram.

32-bit applications cannot address more than 2GB without support from both the application and the OS.   don't confuse application memory use with physical memory addressing.   they aren't the same thing.

 

32-bit apps under XP/vista x64 can address up to 3GB if they support using more than 2GB.   however, many are stuck using a max of 2GB no matter what.

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

3290 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3290
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 16 of 86

Re: System Cannot Identify 4G RAM

2008-09-30, 13:32 PM
enough of my problem, i guess we should focus back on the original poster's question, is his OS taskmanager showing only 2.5 gig normal or not??? From experience using T60, R61i, X60 and T61p under 32 bit system the Taskmanager can account for all 3 gig of ram. However, the loss of ram in the W series maybe accounted by the different graphic cards in the system and whether it is the ATI or Intel GPU that is functioning as the graphic processor. We really need a second W series user opinion on whether this is a common behaviour in 32 bit OS running on W series.
Reply
Options

5884 Posts

11-24-2007

US

12810 Signins

291275 Page Views

  • Posts: 5884
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 291275
  • Message 17 of 86

Re: System Cannot Identify 4G RAM

2008-10-01, 1:56 AM

wjli2 wrote:
enough of my problem, i guess we should focus back on the original poster's question, is his OS taskmanager showing only 2.5 gig normal or not???

sounds normal to me.   the W series have two GPUs and each need separate address space, hence the loss of another 512MB.

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

13 Posts

09-17-2008

Chicago

36 Signins

417 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎09-17-2008
  • Location: Chicago
  • Views: 417
  • Message 18 of 86

Re: System Cannot Identify 4G RAM

2008-10-01, 4:50 AM
so yea, i was wondering what the difference between physical memory and virtual memory? also i think i have the same thing as the original poster, 2.XXX somethin gigs of memory when i have 4gig installed, for somereason my virtual memory says 5.somethin GB, i tink itmay have to do with the 2GB of intel turbo memory i also have. Im guessing most of you are sugesting an upgrade to 64bit vista for anyone trying to use all 4GB of ram right? 
Reply
Options

3290 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3290
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 19 of 86

Re: System Cannot Identify 4G RAM

2008-10-01, 6:25 AM
virtual memory is the memory taken from the harddrive and use to supplement the physical ram when the latter is not enough.
Reply
Options

218 Posts

09-05-2008

Cleveland, OH

60 Signins

1049 Page Views

  • Posts: 218
  • Registered: ‎09-05-2008
  • Location: Cleveland, OH
  • Views: 1049
  • Message 20 of 86

Re: System Cannot Identify 4G RAM

2008-10-02, 17:25 PM

wrote:

Point is; Windows 32 bits handles 2GB of ram.

Message Edited by chibislick on 09-29-2008 11:22 PM

No, no no no.

 

x86 / 32-bit Windows can "handle" up to 4GB of RAM.  32-bit applications running inside of the system get 2GB of Virtual Address Space - EACH.  It is NOT a "waste" to install more than 2GB of RAM, because you're likely going to run more than one 32-bit application at a time.

 

Due to bad drivers and the way hardware is addressed, you are likely to "lose" some amount of RAM if you have 4GB installed on a 32-bit Windows XP/Vista machine, and this RAM is "wasted" as you can't use it for anything.  Installing more than 4GB of RAM on a 32-bit machine is a waste, and depending on the machine more than 3GB can be a waste (again, depends on the hardware).  With our W500, depending on configuration you'll lose between 1-1.5GB of RAM to add-on hardware on a 32-bit OS.

 

For more information about all of this, check out this archived thread at ArsTechnica (new window).  The poster to read is DriverGuru, as he actually writes drivers for a living and knows more about the internals of the "NT" kernel than I could ever hope to.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete