cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
enriquegc
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-04-2017
Location: MX
Views: 5,417
Message 1 of 6

Thinkpad P50 RAM upgrade

Hello,

 

I have a thinkpad P50 that came with 16GB of RAM DDR4 (2 modules of 8GB each). By using CPU-Z I saw the ram is Samsung M471A1K43BB0-CPB.

 

I want to upgrade to 32GB of ram so I have two options:

 

1) Buy other 2 8GB modules of the same model that I already have.

 

2) Buy a 16GB Kingston Kcp421sd8/16.

 

If I go with option #2 should I expect a performance downgrade? I will have one 16GB module and 2 8GB modules.

 

I have attached a picture of ram slot#1 with cpu-z.

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 9,382
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: US
Views: 5,276
Message 2 of 6

Re: Thinkpad P50 RAM upgrade

Any performance downgrade is more theoretical than actual.  I doubt you would notice.  It is nice to have an empty slot for future upgrades.


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
enriquegc
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-04-2017
Location: MX
Views: 5,236
Message 3 of 6

Re: Thinkpad P50 RAM upgrade

Thanks for your response I think I'll get the 16GB dimm. Which would be the optimum ram modules placement? The two factory modules are installed in the slots located under the keyboard (slot 1 and slot 3). This computer has another 2 slots at the back (slot 2 and slot 4). Should I add the new 16GB module to slot 2 (which is at the back) or install the new 16GB module in slot 1 (under the keyboard) and the other two 8GB modules in slots 2 and 4 (at the back)?

DAVader
802.11n
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎09-05-2016
Location: US
Views: 5,219
Message 4 of 6

Re: Thinkpad P50 RAM upgrade

By going with a single stick, your memory will work in single channel instead of double channel.

 

There's a ~18% difference in performance between SC / DC RAM with some applications (video editing):

http://www.gamersnexus.net/guides/1349-ram-how-dual-channel-works-vs-single-channel

 

In gaming and for most day-to-day programs, the difference is minor, though.

________________________________________________________________
P50 - Xeon E3-1535M v5 - 32 GB RAM - FHD display - Quadro M2000M - Win7 x64
danfromtoronto
Punch Card
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-23-2012
Location: Toronto
Views: 4,714
Message 5 of 6

Re: Thinkpad P50 RAM upgrade

Hi all,

I have a similar question.  I just bought a P50 with 8 Gig of RAM.  I want to add 16 Gig.  I think the 8 Gig is installed under the keyboard.  If I just add one 16 Gig RAM stick to one of the slots on the back, will it work with the original 8 Gig to give me 24 Gig or will the fact that it is not matched/symmetric be a problem?  Should I instead remove the 8 Gig and replace it?

 

thanks

Dan

 

Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 4,707
Message 6 of 6

Re: Thinkpad P50 RAM upgrade

It will work to give you 24GB, and if your CPU supports Intel's flex memory access, the 'matched' 16GB part of the RAM should work in dual channel speeds. However, it's pretty much impossible to pick and choose if your desired programs lands in the faster areas.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors