Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Punch Card
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Location: USA
Message 1 of 9 (8,293 Views)

W510 & RAID 0,1

The W510 data sheet indicates that RAID 0,1 is available via the bay adapter.

So if I just plug in a 2nd drive with the ThinkPad Serial Hard Drive Bay Adapter III, will a RAID option show up in the BIOS?

 

Are there any constraints on the 2nd drive (i.e. both drives must be the same same size and physical characteristics)?

 

Thanks

Fanfold Paper
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-01-2010
Location: TAIWAN
Message 2 of 9 (8,251 Views)

Re: W510 & RAID 0,1

No...

I have one SSD driver in my W510 with ThinkPad Serial Hard Drive Bay Adapter III.

SSD1:INTEL X-25M G2 80G

SSD2:INTEL X-25M G1 80G

 

The RAID option does not show up in BIOS (1.17)!

Punch Card
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Location: USA
Message 3 of 9 (8,245 Views)

Re: W510 & RAID 0,1

How does one enable the RAID function on the W510?

 

Twice in the W510 Tech Spec PDF it mentions RAID 0,1 capability.

 

Token Ring
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎04-17-2010
Location: USA
Message 4 of 9 (8,224 Views)

Re: W510 & RAID 0,1

After finally getting thru to a tech in IBM who know what he is talking about ... it seems that you need to have specified RAID option at time of purchase .... the system board is different and comes with the intel raid option.

 

If you take a look here http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-74345

You'll see different system boards that come with RAID ...

 

I'm guessing that your system board does not have RAID .... I've never seen that as an option on Lenovo website for the W510 ..

Punch Card
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Location: USA
Message 5 of 9 (8,218 Views)

Re: W510 & RAID 0,1

OK...so the technical spec's say it supports RAID, there is no footnote saying I need to order something special and there was no RAID option when I ordered this thing.

 

Thanks for the link...I see where they list RAID specific system boards, but what is the RAID Adapter FRU# 60Y5513?

It also has an '*' under CRU instead of an 'N'.

Can I buy and install this RAID Adapter?

Fanfold Paper
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-01-2010
Location: TAIWAN
Message 6 of 9 (8,190 Views)

Re: W510 & RAID 0,1

Thanks for the link.

I got the answer about the raid on my w510(4318-2RU).

I should wait for the 4319-CTO....

 

At this time, I install EWF(Enhanced Write Filter) for Windows7 x64 on my W510 to speed up the system read and write rate.

EWF can also protect the OS and the SSD life.

 

If I use Raid 0,1 on my W510, the original DVD-Writer Bay can not put to use anymore.

Token Ring
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎04-17-2010
Location: USA
Message 7 of 9 (8,163 Views)

Re: W510 & RAID 0,1

I've seen on eBay a cobined eSate/USB power cable so that you can plug the original CD/DVD burner into the eSata port and use it  ... I think  they also sell an enclosure for the burner ... so all is not lost Smiley Happy

 

Visit seller's Store

 

I'm still undecide about getting the cables and enclosure ... but they might help.

 

I'm also unsure if RAID is really worth the extra effort involved ... why are you wanting raid on the W510 ?

 

 

 

 

Punch Card
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Location: USA
Message 8 of 9 (8,112 Views)

Re: W510 & RAID 0,1

"I'm also unsure if RAID is really worth the extra effort involved ... why are you wanting raid on the W510?"

 

I use my laptop almost exclusively docked, but there are rare occasions that I need it to be portable.

For video applications I would like to see how a RAID 0 array would perform on the W510, but it isn't a requirement.

 

What is 4319-CTO?

What is a RAID Adapter (FRU# 60Y5513)?

DId I buy a W510 which is not able to meet it's technical specifications of RAID 0,1 expandability?

 

Thanks

Token Ring
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎04-17-2010
Location: USA
Message 9 of 9 (8,097 Views)

Re: W510 & RAID 0,1

I agree and was a little **** when I found this out ... manged to talk to a first rate tech guy at ibm/lenovo and he offered to replace my system board with the raid system board ... so I'm happy ... expect the engineer to come and do the swap Monday.

 

However my W510 comes with touch screen and I'd much prefer it without (FHD I think).

 

Top Kudoed Authors