Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-17-2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Message 1 of 5 (287 Views)

W520 Int'l Power Question

Hello beautiful folks of the lenovo community. 

 

I am traveling oversees next week to Doha, Qatar where the power outlets are 220V with either the Indian or UK plug head.

 

Will the 520's power brick switch over the voltage, or should I bring my step down converter for good measure?

 

Cheers,

Dylan

WWAN
Posts: 386
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
Location: UK
Message 2 of 5 (279 Views)

Re: W520 Int'l Power Question

The "power brick" should work just fine.

Guru
Posts: 9,240
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Message 3 of 5 (275 Views)

Re: W520 Int'l Power Question

The adapter is 100V-240V capable, as well as 50Hz/60Hz capable, so you should be fine. Do remember to bring a plug adapter as the plugs will likely be differently shaped.
W520: 2720QM, Q2000M at 1082/1376, 32GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 160GB HDD, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
802.11n
Posts: 539
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Location: USA
Message 4 of 5 (274 Views)

Re: W520 Int'l Power Question

For travelling I bought a 135W power brick because of its somewhat smaller size. Same weight though. Works great.

_______________________________________________________________________
W520 4270CTO i7-2820QM Quadro2000M 1920x1080 Display 16GB RAM 2x240GB Intel 510 SSDs (RAID 0) - BIOS 1.42 - PCMark7:4,568
Samsung Series 9 15-inch NP900X4C-A03US - PCMark7: 4674
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-17-2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Message 5 of 5 (249 Views)

Re: W520 Int'l Power Question

Cool. Thanks guys!

top kudoed authors