cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Geekabunga
SCSI Port
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Location: Canada
Views: 729
Message 1 of 12

W520 lock-ups with 100% disk access

Seemingly at random, my W520 will lock-up and the HDD access light is solid. I can move the mouse, but the computer won't respond to mouse clicks or keyboard presses. My only way out is a hard power-down (hold in the power button) and restart. This has happened twice in the past week or so. I'm not doing anything particularly disk-intensive when this happens. I'm using the included 500GB Hitachi drive.
Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 702
Message 2 of 12

Re: W520 lock-ups with 100% disk access

Grab someting that can read SMART data (HD Tune, etc.)

It sounds like your drive has bad sectors.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Geekabunga
SCSI Port
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Location: Canada
Views: 697
Message 3 of 12

Re: W520 lock-ups with 100% disk access

I run software that constantly monitors SMART info on the hard drive and notifies me of any pending problems.
Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 681
Message 4 of 12

Re: W520 lock-ups with 100% disk access

Can you check the Reallocated Sector Count and Current Pending Sector counts?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Geekabunga
SCSI Port
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Location: Canada
Views: 663
Message 5 of 12

Re: W520 lock-ups with 100% disk access

w520-cdi.gif

Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 659
Message 6 of 12

Re: W520 lock-ups with 100% disk access

>Reallocated Sectors Count: 5

There's your problem. CHKDSK /F /R /B might be able to do something. Alternatively, something like SpinRite or HDD Regenerator might fix it. (All three of these methods take a LONG time, so do it overnight.)

If none of those fix it, then you're probably going to have to replace te drive.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Geekabunga
SCSI Port
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Location: Canada
Views: 649
Message 7 of 12

Re: W520 lock-ups with 100% disk access

Sigh ... I just bought this thing brand new.

alphaman
Token Ring
Posts: 273
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
Location: United Kingdom
Views: 642
Message 8 of 12

Re: W520 lock-ups with 100% disk access

From where?
W520 is an old model now.

Download the drive diagnostic software from the HDD manufacturer website or download a Hirens boot disc.
As stated schedule a chkdsk on the drive also in case there's any windows filesystem errors.

Geekabunga
SCSI Port
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Location: Canada
Views: 635
Message 9 of 12

Re: W520 lock-ups with 100% disk access

I bought it brand new from an authorized reseller with unmoved stock. I specifically wanted it instead of a W530 because Lenovo buggered the keyboard.

I'll try the disk stuff, thanks.
Guru
Posts: 2,087
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: US
Views: 618
Message 10 of 12

Re: W520 lock-ups with 100% disk access


@ColonelONeill wrote:
>Reallocated Sectors Count: 5

There's your problem. CHKDSK /F /R /B might be able to do something. Alternatively, something like SpinRite or HDD Regenerator might fix it. (All three of these methods take a LONG time, so do it overnight.)

If none of those fix it, then you're probably going to have to replace te drive.

I don't believe that is the problem unless the reallocated sector count keeps growing. The worst that will happen is a bit of slowness accessing the relocated sector. There's something else amiss here.


P53 XEON 2276 BIOS 1.18 OLED UHD 4K Multi-touch display, 96GB RAM, RTX5000, RAID 1, 1TB x 2 Samsung PM981, 1TB PM981, WWAN
P70 XEON 1505, BIOS 2.32, 4k Display, 64GB, M3000M NVIDIA GPU, RAID1 1TB Samsung PM981 PCIe-NVMe SSD x 2, 2x Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD. EM7455 WWAN
P1. BIOS 1.25,Xeon Processor, 32GB, PM981 1TB x 2, RAID1
T470s, 16GB RAM, BIOS 1.10, i7-7500, WQHD display, 512GB PM961 PCIe NVMe SSD

I am not an employee nor an agent of Lenovo.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors