cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
SSDee
Token Ring
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎05-13-2012
Location: United States
Views: 11,437
Message 1 of 29

W520 mSATA SSD

120GB mSATA SSD

 

I am trying to decide between two choices for my W520. Currently, I am running two HDD.

 

1) Buy the 120GB mSATA SSD (see above link) for $140.

 

2) Buy the Crucial 512GB 2.5" SSD for $400 and replace one of the HDD

 

Which way do you recommend? Thanks in advance.

hormel
Punch Card
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎06-20-2012
Location: Tulsa, OK
Views: 11,410
Message 2 of 29

Re: W520 mSATA SSD

I'm probably not telling you anything you didn't already know.  The mSATA slot (pci-e) is SATA II as compared ot your 2.5" SSD which is SATA III.  The crucial will have better performace.  I'm not sure how big your HDDs are and how much you store on your computer, but if they are sufficient in size for you I would recommend one of these two options.  

 

1. By a 30GB mSATA and use Intel Rapid Boot Technology to turn your HDDs effectively into hybrid SSD/HDD.  

 

2. Use the $140 to replace one of your HDDs with a 120GB-200GB (depending on how good of a shopper you are). Put your OS and most used programs on it.  Store music, pictures, and less used programs on the HDD.  This option will give better performance than your option 1) and won't break the bank like your option 2).  If you do it right, this will give you just as good as performance as your option 2) most of the time.    

_______________________________________________________
Thinkpad W530, i7-3720QM, 1920x1080 screen, 12GB 1333Mhz RAM, RAID 0 2x 320GB 7200 RPM HDD, Quadro K2000M, 6-cell battery, Bluetooth 4.0, Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 AGN
SSDee
Token Ring
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎05-13-2012
Location: United States
Views: 11,380
Message 3 of 29

Is SATA II fast enough?

@hormel

Thanks for the response.

 

I am aware of the points you raise. I should have been more clear.

 

What I really want to know:

 

1) Is the SATA II mSATA slot fast enough in "real-world" application? Is 120GB big enough to hold the O/S and applications when coupled with a 750GB HDD in the main bay?

 

2) Is this configuration a pain to manage, vs. just putting a 512GB SSD in the main bay and a big HDD in the Ultrabay?

 

There is another approach: 256GB mSATA SSDs are starting to hit the market at $250!

 

256GB mSATA @ $250

 

I guess it comes back to is SATA II fast enough

Guru
Posts: 1,779
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: US
Views: 11,370
Message 4 of 29

Re: Is SATA II fast enough?

My experience:

 

I ran with an 80GB Intel mSata card for a long time before I reconfigured my system to the Samsung 830 and placed the original HDD in the UltraBay. I had installed the OS and all of my applications as still had 14gb left of the 80gb. However, that became a bit too tight as all of the Windows and Lenovo updates kept adding to the storage space. Performance was very good and I didn't have to lose the CD/ROM. I removed the mSata drive when I upgraded to the Samsung 830. I had to purchase the UltraBay HDD caddy to allow the usage of the HDD. I have an external BluRay drive attached through the eSata port. The Samsung SSD is blindingly fast and makes the W520 perform well for normal operations.

 

You will notice the difference between SATA-II vs. SATA-III, but, in my case, I believe that the speed improvements that I experienced were more due to the different architectures between the Intel 310 SSD and the Samsung 830. The boot times remained almost the same so no real difference there either.

 

 


P70 XEON 1505, BIOS 2.29, UHD 4k Display, 64GB non-ECC RAM, M3000M NVIDIA GPU, RAID 1 512GB Samsung 951 PCIe-NVMe SSD x 2, 2x Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD. EM7455 WWAN
P1. BIOS 1.22,Xeon Processor, 32GB, PM981 1TB x 2, RAID 1
T470s, 16GB RAM, BIOS 1.10, i7-7500, WQHD display, 512GB PM961 PCIe NVMe SSD
Guru
Posts: 948
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: US
Views: 11,359
Message 5 of 29

Re: Is SATA II fast enough?

The mSATA Intel 310 is also a slowish drive by SATA-II standards. It is essentially a Intel X25-M G2 in mSATA format. The X25-M G2 came out 3d quarter 2009.

X1 Carbon 3rd Gen Type 20BT i7-5500U, 2560x1440 (non-touch), Win 10 Pro, 8GB RAM, 512 SSD, Intel 7625 WiFi, BT 4.0 | ThinkVision P24q-10 monitor

------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number, and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.
hormel
Punch Card
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎06-20-2012
Location: Tulsa, OK
Views: 11,357
Message 6 of 29

Re: W520 mSATA SSD

Harrish has more personal experince than me.   I've only bought 1 SATA II 2.5" SSD, I've never been able to compare SATA II and SATAIII SSDs.  

 

I remembered a tom's hardware article I read a while ago.  I believe all the drives they test are SATA III.  They take the drives and test them in a SATA II port and then perform the same test in a SATA III port.  You can read the article for yourself.

 

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/sata-6gbps-performance-sata-3gbps,3110-7.html 

 

I'd only say this;  If you have enough storage from you 2nd HDD drive, I would avoid mSATA SSDs.  The only thing I can say for sure is that you are going to get more GB/$1 if you buy a standard 2.5" SSD.  

_______________________________________________________
Thinkpad W530, i7-3720QM, 1920x1080 screen, 12GB 1333Mhz RAM, RAID 0 2x 320GB 7200 RPM HDD, Quadro K2000M, 6-cell battery, Bluetooth 4.0, Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 AGN
SSDee
Token Ring
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎05-13-2012
Location: United States
Views: 11,351
Message 7 of 29

Re: W520 mSATA SSD

@Hormel

 

Thanks for pointing out the article. It was just what I was looking for. My conclusion is that there is little real-world difference between hooking the SSD to SATA II or SATA III. This makes the choice of a $250, 256GB mSATA drive reasonable. You are of course correct that you get more bang for the $ with a 2.5", but then you have to give up a drive bay.

 

Decisions, decisions.

Guru
Posts: 948
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: US
Views: 11,341
Message 8 of 29

Re: W520 mSATA SSD

I'm interested to know what you are doing with all of that storage. After close to 3 years of being limited to 64GB on my T400, I am now considering upgrading to a 128GB SSD.

X1 Carbon 3rd Gen Type 20BT i7-5500U, 2560x1440 (non-touch), Win 10 Pro, 8GB RAM, 512 SSD, Intel 7625 WiFi, BT 4.0 | ThinkVision P24q-10 monitor

------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number, and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.
SSDee
Token Ring
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎05-13-2012
Location: United States
Views: 11,339
Message 9 of 29

Will it fit in the W520?

256GB mSATA ADATA

 

I am concerned about the dimensions. Will this fit in the W520? Where is this documented?

 

 

@Nibs - among other uses, I do a lot of photo and video editing. I agree that 120GB might work out when coupled with a HDD, but for an extra $110 I can get a 256GB mSATA vs. 120GB, so why not? I like the idea of having the Ultrabay free for another HDD or the DVD.

 

 

Guru
Posts: 948
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: US
Views: 11,312
Message 10 of 29

Re: Will it fit in the W520?

I think larger is better when it comes to SSD, if you can afford the cost. I just wanted to know what you were using the space for. Photo / video editing makes perfect sense. 

X1 Carbon 3rd Gen Type 20BT i7-5500U, 2560x1440 (non-touch), Win 10 Pro, 8GB RAM, 512 SSD, Intel 7625 WiFi, BT 4.0 | ThinkVision P24q-10 monitor

------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number, and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors