Did you mean: 
Highlighted
sageev
What's DOS?
Views: 1,947
Message 1 of 5

W530 External monitor resolution

Hey all,

I'm having an issue with my W530 not displaying the full resolution of 2560x1440 on the external monitor.

I'm running Win 10 Pro and connecting the laptop to the monitor using the Display port.  The maximum resolution I'm getting is 1920x1080. I've tried installing/reinstalling/uninstalling the latest Nvidia driver with no luck.

The external monitor is Samsung ultra-wide SE790C.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

SeniorGuru
Views: 1,916
Message 2 of 5

Re: W530 External monitor resolution

I have no experience with Win10, so even if this is what's responsible for your issue I wouldn't know.  I only know about the W530 and Win7.

Do you have "discrete graphics" selected in BIOS?  Or are you running Optimus?  In theory, external monitors should be controlled by the nVidia GPU but it's still important to know if you're running Optimus or not?

Are you also using the laptop screen in a multi-desktop arrangement, or is that disabled and you're only using the external monitor?

What does nVidia Control Panel show for your multiple desktop setup? Specifically, what is (a) set up multiple displays, and (b) change resolution?

What does Windows show, when you right-click on desktop and select "Screen Resolution"?

sageev
What's DOS?
Views: 1,903
Message 3 of 5

Thanks for the reply!

I have tried all 3 settings in BIOS: Discrete graphics, Integrated graphics, and Optimus.  No luck.

I have one external monitor that I'm connecting to using a mini Display Port to HDMI cable.

I called the Nvidia support and we tried all sorts of different things like changing BIOS settings, setting custom resolution, reinstalling video drivers, but unfortunately nothing resolved the issue.