cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
fifseventy
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-03-2012
Location: Los Angeles
Views: 4,488
Message 1 of 9

W530 Graphic Card

I got my new W530 at hand, i checked the graphic, it shows Q2100M, but on the website I picked Q K2000M, does the K200M = Q2100M, or they are actually different cards?

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 4,479
Message 2 of 9

Re: W530 Graphic Card

From memory K2000m was the internal code for the card. They are the same card.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
fifseventy
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-03-2012
Location: Los Angeles
Views: 4,469
Message 3 of 9

Re: W530 Graphic Card

Thx a lot for ur reply on previous question, actually, before I decided to buy a W530, I did some reserch on it's predecessor W520, and I remember some Posts came from u.

Now, I got another issue regarding the card Q2100m since it was the one I picked. I ran the windows experience rating on the machine, and what the.....the card only got 5.6 for windows aero which of course was the lowest, and on notebookcheck.com, previously I looked their W520 review which ran a Q2000M card, and it got 6.9!!!? Can anything explain the huge difference between a 5.6 for 2100M and 6.9 for Q2000m on the same Windows Aero rating? 

fifseventy
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-03-2012
Location: Los Angeles
Views: 4,467
Message 4 of 9

Re: W530 Graphic Card

I tried to reply to u but somehow my reply came out at bot, don't know how lenovo community works yet
lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 4,457
Message 5 of 9

Re: W530 Graphic Card

yeap this maybe the result of the Nvidia Optimus driver, which switches to Intel GPU.

Go into your bios and switch to the discrete option.

then rerun the benchmark.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
fifseventy
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-03-2012
Location: Los Angeles
Views: 4,449
Message 6 of 9

Re: W530 Graphic Card

I've actually thought about that, but what confused me was that on the 3D and gaming graphic rating, my laptop got 6.9, which was exactly as the score in the W520 reivew. If ur suggestion is correct ,does that mean in the rating process, the laptop switch it's GPU from intel to Navi and switched back again?
And, if I switch to the discrete option, does that mean, from then on Optimus won't work and the individual 2100M will run?
lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 4,442
Message 7 of 9

Re: W530 Graphic Card

when you switch to discrete only the nvidia gpu runs.

The rating process for MS Windows may not stress the GPU enough to activate Nvidia for the length of the benchmarking process.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
fifseventy
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-03-2012
Location: Los Angeles
Views: 4,439
Message 8 of 9

Re: W530 Graphic Card

Thx for all the replies~
mikew3
Punch Card
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Location: US
Views: 4,432
Message 9 of 9

Re: W530 Graphic Card

Out of the box, my w530 showed 2100M as well. Once I updated the driver, it showed K2000M.

 

In fact, thats one of the "fixes" in the latest driver.

http://support.lenovo.com/

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors