English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

06-13-2018

DE

21 Signins

37 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2018
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 37
  • Message 1 of 7

W530 no boot/BIOS after CPU upgrade to i7 3740QM

2018-06-13, 21:55 PM

Hello Community!

I tried to upgrade my W530 i5 3320M with an i7 3740QM. Unfortunately after installing, I could not even enter BIOS anymore, just the "Thinkpad" boot screen appears, without prompt to enter setup. Swapped back to the i5 - everything fine as before.

 

I have installed to different RAMs (4GB Hynix orig.+8GB Crucial) in the slots underneath the keyboard- while using the i5 these are the presupposed slots. Nevertheless it should run with those, right? BIOS is from 2.65 from 2016. 

 

Any idea what else could be up here?

Thanks a lot!

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

10500 Posts

01-02-2010

US

39286 Signins

406322 Page Views

  • Posts: 10500
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 406322
  • Message 2 of 7

Re: W530 no boot/BIOS after CPU upgrade to i7 3740QM

2018-06-13, 22:53 PM

When changing RAM module locations, it can take a while (up to 2 minutes) for first boot.  Try with a single DIMM  in the original location.  Also, CPU could be bad.


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

06-13-2018

DE

21 Signins

37 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2018
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 37
  • Message 3 of 7

Re: W530 no boot/BIOS after CPU upgrade to i7 3740QM

2018-06-14, 5:55 AM

.. what I thought - maybe some setting in the BIOS that prevents it from working with another CPU?

Something about hardware changes/security or similar!?

 

thanks

Reply
Options

12449 Posts

06-06-2011

RU

17634 Signins

171575 Page Views

  • Posts: 12449
  • Registered: ‎06-06-2011
  • Location: RU
  • Views: 171575
  • Message 4 of 7

Re: W530 no boot/BIOS after CPU upgrade to i7 3740QM

2018-06-14, 11:35 AM
Any chance new CPU is either Engineering or Qualification sample, not a Production one? What's its s-Spec number? Find it out on the CPU package surface, 5 symbols for production CPU (starts with SR), 4 symbols for ES/QS.



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Portugues    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

Reply
Options

4 Posts

06-13-2018

DE

21 Signins

37 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2018
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 37
  • Message 5 of 7

Re: W530 no boot/BIOS after CPU upgrade to i7 3740QM

2018-06-14, 16:28 PM
hm, thanks for the tipp but I don´t think so.. it´s "SR0UV"
Reply
Options

3486 Posts

12-02-2007

US

8941 Signins

182056 Page Views

  • Posts: 3486
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 182056
  • Message 6 of 7

Re: W530 no boot/BIOS after CPU upgrade to i7 3740QM

2018-06-16, 9:34 AM

Hello,

 

Does your ThinkPad W530 have a dual-core motherboard or a quad-core motherboard?  The dual-core motherboards have two slots for RAM, while the quad-core motherboards with four slots for RAM.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP72 (20MB-*)P50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Język Polski    Moto English

Reply
Options

4 Posts

06-13-2018

DE

21 Signins

37 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2018
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 37
  • Message 7 of 7

Re: W530 no boot/BIOS after CPU upgrade to i7 3740QM

2018-06-16, 10:46 AM

Hi there,

it has 4 RAM slots and actually it now WORKS and the thing is FAST now! Really great experience.. I

- updated BIOS from 2.65 to 2.69

- changed some minor settings in BIOS like the theft security, etc.

- removed 2nd RAM 

 

Then it worked even when putting back the RAM, so no idea now what the reason was. Maybe I forgot to plug the fan which causes the hanging boot image not even booting BIOS. But this is very hard to overlook so I am not sure.

 

Anyways thanks for your help!

 

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save