cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,390
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: US
Views: 1,192
Message 11 of 16

Re: W541: multiple SSDs?

Hello,

 

I'm using the M.2 SSD as my boot drive; I just installed Windows 8 Pro from the included recovery media to it using the internal DVD±RW disc drive with no other drives connected and it installed without any issues. 

 

In the internal 2.5" drive bay is a 1TB Crucial MX200 SSD for data; it's around half-full right now, I believe.

 

The Ultrabay still contains the DVD±RW disc drive.

 

My unit also came with a SDXC Card slot. which I suppose I could use for expanstion (256GB SDSC Cards are around $100 now, 512GB still hovering around $450), but that will probably be used more often for quick backups of data sets when I need to shuffle something between non-networked computers. 

 

If you do decide to use up some of the USB ports, Sandisk has an 128GB Ultra Fit USB 3.0 flash drive that just sticks out a a few mm from the port.  Very low-profile.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 

 


@bmatson wrote:

Aryeh,

 

Are you using this M2 drive as your boot drive?  Also, what are you using in your main HD/SSD slot?  Also, are you using a 3rd SSD by replacing the optical drive in the ultrabay and using an ultrabay caddy to install another (3rd) SSD.  Just curious, since this is my ultimate goal, to get as much SSD storage on-board as possible without having to use up my USB ports.

 

Thanks,

bmatson


 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP72 (20MB-*)P50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Język Polski    Moto English

bmatson
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Views: 1,172
Message 12 of 16

Re: W541: multiple SSDs?

Thanks for the info, Aryeh.  I'm hoping to use the M2 SSD as a supplemental drive and leave the current boot drive as the boot drive.  I haven't received my M2 drive yet, but most people with M2 drives seem to be booting off of it.  Does the w541 try and boot off of the M2 by default?  Do I need to set up the main drive to be the higher priority boot device in the BIOS?  (I would rather not mess with the BIOS settings if I can help it.)

 

Thanks

bmatson

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,390
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: US
Views: 1,151
Message 13 of 16

Re: W541: multiple SSDs?

Hello,

 

There's no reason you shouldn't be able to use the M.2 SSD as a supplemental drive.  As you noted, just make sure that your current boot drive has a higher priority than it in the BIOS/UEFI firmware to ensure it gets booted from first before the M.2 SSD.  I believe this is the default setting, but it should be immediately apparently if there is a problem (i.e., machine doesn't boot), in which case you can change the settings.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 

 


@bmatson wrote:

Thanks for the info, Aryeh.  I'm hoping to use the M2 SSD as a supplemental drive and leave the current boot drive as the boot drive.  I haven't received my M2 drive yet, but most people with M2 drives seem to be booting off of it.  Does the w541 try and boot off of the M2 by default?  Do I need to set up the main drive to be the higher priority boot device in the BIOS?  (I would rather not mess with the BIOS settings if I can help it.)

 

Thanks

bmatson


 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP72 (20MB-*)P50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Język Polski    Moto English

Jungstar
Punch Card
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-13-2016
Location: US
Views: 665
Message 14 of 16

Re: W541: multiple SSDs?

I might build this I'm not sure how much space there is in the W541. But in my T440P I'm looking at this to make use of the M.2 connection.  There is plenty is space in the Drivebay for two SSD with a M.2 or a mSATA connection. From there it is just to find a way to keep them fixed and connect a few wires Smiley Happy Some will say it is stupid, other will say it is a great way to use the M.2  connection. 

 

Three SSD t440p.JPG

markludlow
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-05-2015
Location: United States
Views: 590
Message 15 of 16

Re: W541: multiple SSDs?

I put a 1-TByte Drive in each bay (internal and external) of my W541 and they work flawlessly. At first I thought RAID0 but then decided I wanted all the space. Both drives (Samsung 840 EVO's) are super fast. I have my Dropbox local mirror on one.

Mark

Jungstar
Punch Card
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-13-2016
Location: US
Views: 589
Message 16 of 16

Re: W541: multiple SSDs?

I think it also has to be born with Raid 0 to be enabled. But I think you have to be a heavy user to feel it and if you are crazy about fast storage maybe just buy a new laptop with PCIe enabled SSD Smiley Happy - but I like the idea that we in the old fast quad core (like my T440P) can have 3 x SSDs, where most new models have 1 only.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors