Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: P and W Series Mobile Workstations
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

01-06-2009

Va

4 Signins

21 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎01-06-2009
  • Location: Va
  • Views: 21
  • Message 1 of 6

dual monitor setup help

2009-01-06, 18:22 PM

The assets:

I have one W500 laptop connected to a ThinkPad Advanced Mini Dock

 

The mini dock has two video outputs, a VGA (blue) and DVI (white) connected to two 22" monitors.

 

What I want:

To use the monitors in a dual screen setup with the laptop screen not being used.

 

 The problem:

I can get the laptop and one monitor to support split screen.  I cannot get both monitors engaged at the same time.  Basically it will only push video out of the DVI or VGA exclusively.  

 

I've gone into the BIOS: Config > Display > changed settings to discrete graphics

Rebooted

Went into BIOS again: Display > checked  to try to switch to DVI+VGA which I read opens both video outputs but the option wasn't availible.

 

So here are my questions:

Does the ThinkPad Advanced Mini Dock support a dual monitor output?

If it does, could someone spell out in detail the steps to set it up in the BIOS?

 

I've been able to get dual monitors working with a main screen and secondary screen but the laptop always assumes one of the video out rolls.

 

Thanks!

Ben 

Reply
Options

9380 Posts

11-27-2007

Slovakia

15518 Signins

2040239 Page Views

  • Posts: 9380
  • Registered: ‎11-27-2007
  • Location: Slovakia
  • Views: 2040239
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: dual monitor setup help

2009-01-06, 19:57 PM

Ben, welcome to the forum,

 

Are you using ThinkVantage Presentation Director? (shortcut Fn+F7)
 
When creating your profile and selecting screens there is the option to select output to DVI and VGA, this is only available if you first de-select the internal screen. It will also allow you to clone the screens or select extended desktop.
 
Hope this helps

 

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

Reply
Options

218 Posts

09-05-2008

Cleveland, OH

60 Signins

1049 Page Views

  • Posts: 218
  • Registered: ‎09-05-2008
  • Location: Cleveland, OH
  • Views: 1049
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: dual monitor setup help

2009-01-08, 22:05 PM
You may need to close the lid of the thinkpad in order to get the internal display to shutoff and the external VGA to work.  Not sure of this though.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

01-06-2009

Va

4 Signins

21 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎01-06-2009
  • Location: Va
  • Views: 21
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: dual monitor setup help

2009-01-08, 22:21 PM

Ok, so I went into the advanced settingings for the video card.  Got it to recognize both monitors, got them both working by initiating the second monitor... everything is awesome now.

 

BUT

 

My boss wants BOTH monitors to work and then the laptop monitor to work as well... which I feel is pointless because it's going to be a clone of one of the other monitors, which are larger and brighter and easier to read, and I'd have to find another video card somewhere to get it to display anyway, I suspect.... but for the sake of the argument lets say that I have people who want that laptop screen to show something.  Is this possible.  I know it doesnt make sense... but it's what I've been tasked with.

Reply
Options

9380 Posts

11-27-2007

Slovakia

15518 Signins

2040239 Page Views

  • Posts: 9380
  • Registered: ‎11-27-2007
  • Location: Slovakia
  • Views: 2040239
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: dual monitor setup help

2009-01-08, 22:33 PM

Ben,

 

The answer is simple, you are right, tell your boss "sorry it is not possible" with the hardware available. This has been discussed several times in these boards. This thread is probably worth looking at.

 

Hope this helps

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

Reply
Options

4 Posts

01-06-2009

Va

4 Signins

21 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎01-06-2009
  • Location: Va
  • Views: 21
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: dual monitor setup help

2009-01-08, 23:13 PM

Good answer, Andy.

 

I figured as much.  

 

Thanks a ton, guys.  It can be hard to ferret out answers, you've made it easy.  I appreciate it.

 

Thanks for the welcome to the forum, I'll definately be sticking around now that my hardware baseline is largely these W500s.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms