cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
stasik
Punch Card
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎08-10-2010
Location: RU
Views: 27,849
Message 1 of 10

error 2100: HDD0 initializing error (1)

Hello.

 

I have W510 and change a standart HDD to SSD Corsair Force F240. And allready second time today have an error while power on:

 

error 2100: HDD0 initializing error (1)

 

how i can fix it? thanks

 

Stas.

 

dk06
Serial Port
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-09-2010
Location: San Diego
Views: 27,842
Message 2 of 10
Davidvf
Punch Card
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Location: AU
Views: 27,811
Message 3 of 10

Re: error 2100: HDD0 initializing error (1)

I also had this error with a Corsair X256. I would get this error first thing every morning when the machine was literally cold. I found that by powering down (holding down the power button) it would then bootup okay (at least four times out of five). Alternatively if I kept the unit warm overnight (next to a heater) I would not have the problem (go figure).

 

I spent hours and hours trying to resolve, having the motherboard replaced twice and even buying a second (horrendously expensive) Corsair X256. None of this resolve the issue.

 

Unfortunately the initialisation error seems to be specifically related to a number of Corsair SSD's. I finally purchased the P Series from Corsair and haven't had a problem since.

Thinkpad P1 (Model 20MDCTO1WWW Tx) - Windows 10 x64 Pro - Intel Xeon E-2176M vPro Processor, Nvidia P2000 4Gb, 64GB DDR4 2666 SODIMM
Thinkpad X1 Carbon (Model 20FB)
studix
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-18-2010
Location: Swizerland
Views: 27,544
Message 4 of 10

Re: error 2100: HDD0 initializing error (1)

Hi

I have the same problem with my W510 and my SSD Corsair F240. The error appears  every second time when i boot or resume windows. I tested the hard drive with ThinkVantage PC Doctor and HDTune. Everything looks fine.

 

Stas, could you fix the problem?

 

Marco

mpaulino
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-17-2014
Location: Canada
Views: 18,288
Message 5 of 10

Re: error 2100: HDD0 initializing error (1)

Hi,

 

Was there ever a solution to this issue?

 

Thanks!

 

 

xcln
SCSI Port
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎06-02-2008
Location: US
Views: 15,558
Message 6 of 10

Re: error 2100: HDD0 initializing error (1) also error (2) 3 etc

This definitely appears to be a hard drive issue, possibly linked to the firmware or OS settings.

 

On a T410 and a refurbished Western Digital Scorpio Black 320 GB the system ran fine (Win 7 Pro),  *but* at some times would get that error on boot.  Either rebooting or switching from ACHI to Compatibility mode would correct the issue, but never permanently. That T410 never has any issue with other drives.

This seems to be a timing issue with the HD being recognized in time: sometimes just hitting the Thinkvantage blue button at startup is enough to get the drive to be recognized. This may also be why changing from ACHI to Compatibility helps.

 

So my take is to *just* try another hard drive first, possibly cloning it on another system where it is recognized.  And WD refurbished no more for me. It was a poisoned gift.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Asus LG5, Toshiba M3, HP nc4400, Thinkpad R50, T61, T61p, X200 Tablet, X230, MacBook Air, T410, W510, T430s, T450s, Surface Pro
Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 15,515
Message 7 of 10

Re: error 2100: HDD0 initializing error (1) also error (2) 3 etc

IIRC Scorpio Blacks have a 5 year warranty. Probably a valid reason to use it.

Also, if you have the drive jumped for low power startups, it might not have spun up in time.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
xcln
SCSI Port
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎06-02-2008
Location: US
Views: 15,509
Message 8 of 10

Re: error 2100: HDD0 initializing error (1) also error (2) 3 etc

WD black are my preferred ones, indeed w/5 yr warranty -  however this one is a refurb one, only 90 day warranty from WD (expired - I ran tests then but that issue didn't show up at the time - bummer)

 

Re RPS - interesting, this was set as standard (no RPS).  So trying RPS enabled, so far the drive hasn't had the error 2100 booting issue. - but experiencing far more random BSOD's (there were some issues before jumpering but not as much). Since I ran memory tests (this one has 8GB of OEM ram) it is probably a cache issue also caused by that hard drive.  What a specimen, a drive that works well most of the time but fails reliably some 20% of the time! 

Will confirm for sure after I replace w/ a different drive.

WD shouldn't be reselling these refurbished drives at all - terrible for their reputation.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Asus LG5, Toshiba M3, HP nc4400, Thinkpad R50, T61, T61p, X200 Tablet, X230, MacBook Air, T410, W510, T430s, T450s, Surface Pro
xcln
SCSI Port
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎06-02-2008
Location: US
Views: 15,505
Message 9 of 10

Re: error 2100: HDD0 initializing error (1)

Not sure if this will help or not. But my experience with SSD's so far is that the Intel (some, I don't recall which), Kingston HyperX (very nice, all SSD inner workings completely hidden from user and automatically working in background), and all Samsung SSD 's work without issues on a variety of Thinkpads (T60/61p, X200, W500, T500, T410, T430s ..).  So maybe trying one of these instead might be useful.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Asus LG5, Toshiba M3, HP nc4400, Thinkpad R50, T61, T61p, X200 Tablet, X230, MacBook Air, T410, W510, T430s, T450s, Surface Pro
robeto1989
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-08-2016
Location: lima
Views: 11,144
Message 10 of 10

Re: error 2100: HDD0 initializing error (1)

I have a T430 and ssd Corsair Force LE 240GB.

 

Start work fine with Win7 but when I update to 10 error 2100.

 

-update bios to 2.70

-bios ssd not in list

 

error 2100

Maybe the ssd need new bios.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors