cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Jason_Think
Punch Card
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-11-2012
Location: Canada
Views: 3,500
Message 1 of 5

msata ssd as disk cache in w530

Hi, I purchased a msata ssd 32 G used as a disk cache. I installed and the windows can recognize it. But I do not know how to partition it (at least the windows does not let me partition from compmgmt.msc) and how to enable it as the hard driver cache. Thanks!

_____________________________________________________________
W530 2436-CTO, i7-3610QM, Quadro K1000M 1920x1080 Display with color sensor, 32GB DDR3 1600 RAM, Intel 256G SSD,500GB 7200rpm Hard Disk, BIOS 2.59
eos
802.11n
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Location: GI
Views: 3,473
Message 2 of 5

Re: msata ssd as disk cache in w530

you need to partition it using the disk manager. Hit the windows button, and type "create and format" in the search bar, then run it.

You should then see an unformatted unpartitioned disk. Make sure you only do a quick format, not a full format which will start wearing the thing out.  Presumably you will want to give the drive a letter e.g. "E" at this point.    Make sure you dont format the wrong drive!

 

I have not used it as a cache - I boot of my msata.

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 3,462
Message 3 of 5

Re: msata ssd as disk cache in w530

Links removed as per request. Please contact the mSATA vendor for options.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Jason_Think
Punch Card
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-11-2012
Location: Canada
Views: 3,438
Message 4 of 5

Re: msata ssd as disk cache in w530

Thanks! It's really what I want.
I am curious the difference between the Intel Rapid Start vs. express cache. I wonder whether you can explain a little bit more.
_____________________________________________________________
W530 2436-CTO, i7-3610QM, Quadro K1000M 1920x1080 Display with color sensor, 32GB DDR3 1600 RAM, Intel 256G SSD,500GB 7200rpm Hard Disk, BIOS 2.59
cconesa
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-09-2013
Location: USA
Views: 1,406
Message 5 of 5

Re: msata ssd as disk cache in w530

I have just done a completely fresh install of the W530 with Windows 8 (my model came with W7). I can see the msata drive (factory installed) but how do I enable it so it is used as a hard drive cache?, By the way I bought and installed a Crucial M4 SSD which works like a dream so there is probable no point in enabling a HDD cache...

 

Please advise.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors