Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mhamilton
What's DOS?
Views: 1,112
Message 1 of 3

w540 problems with Sleep as well as USB 3.0

I have a ThinkPad w540 for work. I take the laptop between work and home every day. About every 3-4 times, the laptop will not sleep when the lid is closed, but it is no longer usable and displays a black screen if I reopen it. Then, it will BSOD at some point, usually after 5 - 10 minutes. This is extremely frustrating since I cannot figure out any magic scenario that would allow it to sleep successfully every time.

In addition, I have a Toshiba external harddrive. It has a USB 3.0 (SS) connection, and I have never had an issue with it. It only works in the w540's non-3.0 ports. It is simply not detected on the 3.0 ports. Obviously, performance is quite poor on the non-3.0 ports.

I have updated the BIOS and installed as many drivers as I could find on the support page. Nothing has helped. Why is this laptop so flaky? I am a developer so it is quite a powerful machine but these issues are really disappointing since we just received them recently.

Bauden
Token Ring
Views: 1,085
Message 2 of 3

Re: w540 problems with Sleep as well as USB 3.0

In addition, I have a Toshiba external harddrive. It has a USB 3.0 (SS) connection, and I have never had an issue with it. It only works in the w540's non-3.0 ports. It is simply not detected on the 3.0 ports. Obviously, performance is quite poor on the non-3.0 ports.

Are you sure they are in the USB 3 ports?  On most computer, the convention is a blue connector.  The W540 is stealth, and black.

Make sure to test another USB 3 device, to make sure the USB 3 drivers are installed.

I also found that the type of cable may be a cause.  My OK cables are thick and work. I had a thinner USB 3 cable that worked on my other Workstations AND desktop, but not on the W540.  I do not know the exact issue why.