Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: S Series, ThinkPad Yoga and Twist Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

10-02-2018

United States of America

10 Signins

82 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎10-02-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 82
  • Message 1 of 4

Upgrading SSD on Yoga 260 20FD to 1TB

2019-10-04, 0:49 AM

Hi everyone,

 

I bought my Yoga 260 20FD with a 128 GB SATA6G and now I am trying to install a 1TB PCIe3x4 SSD based on the recomendation of the attached document.

 

I cloned my 128GB SSD to my 1TB SSD only adjusting the C: drive partition to fit the 1TB capacity using Macrium Reflect and a portable SSD to USB adaptor.

 

Everytime I try to boot from the 1TB SSD I am unable. I have tried to boot from a recovery disk in the BIOS but have had no luck with that either.

 

If anyone knows what my issue might be any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

RichYoga260

Reply
Options

9349 Posts

01-13-2008

United States of America

78092 Signins

2243850 Page Views

  • Posts: 9349
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 2243850
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: Upgrading SSD on Yoga 260 20FD to 1TB

2019-10-04, 3:29 AM

Hello and welcome,

 

What _exactly_ happens when you try to boot your cloned drive or recovery disk?

 

What USB adapter did you use?  Most of the earlier NVMe adapters placed sector size restrictions on the SSD that made them unusable for cloning.

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

Communities: English Deutsch Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Polski Türkçe Moto English

Reply
Options

3 Posts

10-02-2018

United States of America

10 Signins

82 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎10-02-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 82
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: Upgrading SSD on Yoga 260 20FD to 1TB

2019-10-06, 22:04 PM

Hi Z,

 

Some how fixed my problem after months of trying and have no idea how.

 

I was getting a error code 0x0000225 when trying to boot.

 

Before replying to your message I attempted to fix the issues following the youtube video below. I attempted the second method, repairing the boot sector or rebuild BCD in the cammand prompt. When I attempted the repair or rebuild, the command was not recognized but when I restarted the computer its started up as if nothing was wrong....

https://youtu.be/lkJUcmDxeX8

 

This is the usb adapter I used and worked for me

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07MNFH1PX/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

Whats even weired is that when the new harddrive seemed too work other parts of my computer seemed to work as well. For example the fingerprint reader started working after a year without it and window hello seems to work. Im happy to have upgraded to a 1TB SSD and accedentally fixed multiple issues with my computer but part of me wishes I knew what went wrong and how I accedentally fixed it.

 

Rich

Reply
Options

56 Posts

06-02-2008

United States of America

118 Signins

1025 Page Views

  • Posts: 56
  • Registered: ‎06-02-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1025
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: Upgrading SSD on Yoga 260 20FD to 1TB

2019-12-23, 5:08 AM

Good that you got it fixed. Sorry I didn't see this earlier, but it was cleary a corrupted bit /sector on the boot area (from the error code). Has happened to me with cloning (using AOMEI) SSD's on Thinkpads. A  disk repair operation  (using the correct Windows 10 v1903 or v1909 or 1803 USB or ISO ) usually corrects this - or another disk boot corrector (Paragon Hard drive commander for example). 

I suspect the cloning of this boot area is tricky and sometimes isn't done properly. Windows knows a lot of tricks to automatically correct the boot process, for example if the C drive has the wrong drive letter assigned. 

 

PS. Since I have the same model tho upgraded to a Samsung 500GB NVMe, I'm curious to know how fast you got yours to boot. When I booted from a cloned (loaded w/ utilities and programs) image, it was something around 40 sec, so I decided to try a clean install just to see.. and I got it to boot in 16 seconds (usable, ie apps open instantly, so it isn't still running startup ops in the background).

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Asus LG5, Toshiba M3, HP nc4400, Thinkpad R50, T61, T61p, X200 Tablet, X230, MacBook Air, T410, W510, T430s, T450s, Surface Pro, Yoga 260, Thinkpad T10, ...
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms