cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
uzairbaps
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-24-2016
Location: UK
Views: 463
Message 1 of 9

Factory reset laptop, now have new problem.

Hi,

 

I have a thinkpad yoga s1 - 12.5 size, 8gb ram, core i5 - currently on windows 8.1

I had various issues with wifi, graphics etc... which led me to factory resetting the laptop with the recovery cd's which came with the laptop .

 

When now looking at the system information from control panel it is displaying the wrong processor and ram information (core i3 and 4gb. Since ressetting the time is also displayed wrong. From task manager the ram is also displayed at 4gb. How do i resolve this please?

 

I have done all the windows updates, however there is one update from 'lenovo system update 5' which fails to download, which is a Thinkpad bios update non-vpro.

 

Appriciate all the help.

 

 

uzairbaps
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-24-2016
Location: UK
Views: 461
Message 2 of 9

Re: Factory reset laptop, now have new problem.

Also like to add i have sent the laptop for repair under warrenty through which i have had the motherboard and wireless card replaced. i did not check however then if the system information was correct.

JDGillis
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,585
Registered: ‎12-11-2015
Location: US
Views: 442
Message 3 of 9

Re: Factory reset laptop, now have new problem.

It sounds to me like whomever replaced your motherboard, did so with the wrong one and downgraded your system.   

 

  • Go to Device Manager   (Windows Key + X) and select Device Manager or (Windows Key +R) and type devmgmt.msc 
  • Double click on Processor and see it it shows an Core i5 or Core i3 processor.    
  • If it says Core i3, then they installed a lesser motherboard, so take it back wo who did the warranty work and have them install the correct one.

Cheers

uzairbaps
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-24-2016
Location: UK
Views: 431
Message 4 of 9

Re: Factory reset laptop, now have new problem.

Hi thanks for the reply,

 

yeh it is displayed as core i3. I checked the bios yesterday and it mentions the same.

The ram is also downgraded.

 

Do you think the bios update failure has to do with this as well.

JDGillis
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,585
Registered: ‎12-11-2015
Location: US
Views: 426
Message 5 of 9

Re: Factory reset laptop, now have new problem.

Most likely.    If they installed a different motherboard, then the BIOS may be different than the one expected in the version you tried to install.

 

Bottom line, you need to get whomever replaced your motherboard to replace the lower grade one with the one they were supposed to install.....Going from an Core i5 to Core i3 is a big downgrade, not to mention the less ram.     Sorry you have to go through that process again, but they need to make it right and I am sure they will since they clearly messed up...

 

Best of luck

Guru
Posts: 1,917
Registered: ‎02-27-2012
Location: US
Views: 409
Message 6 of 9

Re: Factory reset laptop, now have new problem.

Hi uzairbaps

 

Let's check the specs. Can you please post the full model number of your Thinkpad?

 

Regards












Martín Itúrbide
OS2World.com NewsMaster
Self-proclaimed Trackpoint Fan Club President
"Don't Panic" 
Wil Wheaton
Remember: Your Friend Wil Declares....
Please click "Kudos" for Ego Boost !!


 

uzairbaps
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-24-2016
Location: UK
Views: 405
Message 7 of 9

Re: Factory reset laptop, now have new problem.

serial - xxxxx

 

model - 20C0003TUK

 

 

Moderator comment: Serial number(s) removed to protect member from mischief.

JDGillis
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,585
Registered: ‎12-11-2015
Location: US
Views: 392
Message 8 of 9

Re: Factory reset laptop, now have new problem.

As you stated, your system shoudl have a Core i5 and 8GB of ram based upon the part number, so I still suspect that they made a mistake, and either repaced the motherboard with the wrong one, or exchanged yours with a lesser model, so they need to correct their mistake.

 

ThinkPad YOGA

http://shop.lenovo.com/gb/en/laptops/thinkpad/yoga-series/yoga/

 

ThinkPad Edge S1 Yoga

P/N: 20C0003TUK

 

ProcessorIntel Core i5-4300U Processor( 1.90GHz 1600MHz 3MB)

Operating systemWindows 7 Professional 64

Display type12.5" FHD AntiGlare 1920x1080System

Graphics Intel HD 4400

Total memory 8.0GB PC3-12800 DDR3L 1600 MHz

Hard drive device500GB + 8GB 5400 rpm

Network cardIntel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7260BluetoothBluetooth Version 4.0

WarrantyThree year

Pointing device Clickpad

Battery8 Cell Lithium-Polymer

 

Good luck 

Guru
Posts: 1,917
Registered: ‎02-27-2012
Location: US
Views: 387
Message 9 of 9

Re: Factory reset laptop, now have new problem.

Hi

 

I'm also thinking that they may downgraded your mainboard, who knows?

I also noticed that HwInfo can also show you the model number of your mainboard. Maybe you can check if it matchs the product number of your computer sticker. 

 

Here it is mine for example.

2016-03-28 20_51_36-Lenovo Companion.png

 

Regards












Martín Itúrbide
OS2World.com NewsMaster
Self-proclaimed Trackpoint Fan Club President
"Don't Panic" 
Wil Wheaton
Remember: Your Friend Wil Declares....
Please click "Kudos" for Ego Boost !!


 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors