Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: S Series, ThinkPad Yoga and Twist Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

13 Posts

11-04-2014

Australia

28 Signins

295 Page Views

• Views: 295
  • Message 1 of 9

Thinkpad Yoga - screen wear when using the pen

2014-11-04, 23:46 PM

I've been using penabled laptops for about 8 years now and bought a ThinkPad Yoga about 10 month ago.

The pen turned out to be disappointing - it's a lightweight job reminiscent of the pens they include with Samsung Note and like phablets rather tha a proper full size Wacom pen.

Just like other people I was also disappointed by the non removable plastic sheet protector on the screen in place of proper Gorilla glass screen cover.

But well, overall, apart from the awful touchpad, it was a decent laptop and I've been always happy with my previous Thinkpads, so I kept it.

Now, I'm using the pen a lot, incliding for scrolling. It turned out that the nib is not replaceable and that the plastic sheet protector on the screen is not hard enough to resist wear from the included pen - after 10 month of use it's pretty badly worn, especially in the scrolling area on the right.

I've never had this issue with my previous penabled tablets, even after 3-4 years of use, so I must say I'm rather disapponted at Lenovo selling this as a penabled laptop when the screen could not stand up to daily use with the included pen.

Does anyone else have this issue? Should I send it back to Lenovo to get the protective layer replaced while it's still under warranty?

Options

116 Posts

02-06-2011

United States of America

112 Signins

739 Page Views

• Views: 739
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: Thinkpad Yoga - screen wear when using the pen

2015-01-10, 2:21 AM