cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
brndnpitt87
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-21-2013
Location: Bethel Park, PA
Views: 2,043
Message 1 of 22

Unable to Swipe for Charms Bar

I've had the ThinkPad Twist for 4 days now, and now all of a sudden I have lost the ability to swipe my screen to access the charms bar.  The only way I can access it, is either by using the trackpad or by entering windows + C; however, doing this is incredibly inconvenient, especially while in tablet mode - having to constantly switch it from tablet mode to laptop mode to get the keyboard to access the charms bar pretty much makes tablet mode absolutely useless.

 

I have already tried calibrating the screen, as well as resetting the calibration... neither brings back the charms bar.

 

PLEASE HELP!

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,291
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Views: 2,002
Message 2 of 22

Re: Unable to Swipe for Charms Bar

Hi, brndnpitt87

 

My first recommendation would be to ensure that all your drivers and your BIOS have been updated. The latest BIOS for your system was released a week ago, so it may provide some help on the issue. The BIOS update can be found here, and all other available driver updates for your system can be found here.

 

Hope it helps,

Adam

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution!" This will help the rest of the community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.
BriceB
Punch Card
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Location: France
Views: 1,979
Message 3 of 22

Re: Unable to Swipe for Charms Bar

Hello, I've the same problem. Bios and drivers are up to date.

 

What can i do ?

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,291
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Views: 1,968
Message 4 of 22

Re: Unable to Swipe for Charms Bar

Hi, BriceB

 

For clarification of your particular issue: All other touch commands work properly, but not swiping for the Charms Bar, correct? 

 

Also, what is your exact machine type and model? You can find this information on the bottom of the computer. It should be a seven-digit code with formatting like: XXXX-XXX. Be sure to not post your serial number, however. I'd like to look up the components of the device and see what could be causing the issue.

 

Best,

Adam

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution!" This will help the rest of the community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.
brndnpitt87
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-21-2013
Location: Bethel Park, PA
Views: 1,960
Message 5 of 22

Re: Unable to Swipe for Charms Bar

My BIOS is up to date.  This appears to be an intermittent issue,seeing as everything was working properly yesterday... until I put the ThinkPad into tent mode... then the charms bar disappeared again and I couldn't get it back.  My charms bar is back again today, but I don't know for how long that will be the case.

brndnpitt87
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-21-2013
Location: Bethel Park, PA
Views: 1,952
Message 6 of 22

Re: Unable to Swipe for Charms Bar

Yup, gone again.  I locked my laptop and came back to it.  It took a while to swipe up the lock screen and when I was finally able to log in, I couldn't swipe for the charms bar.

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,291
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Views: 1,939
Message 7 of 22

Re: Unable to Swipe for Charms Bar

Hi again,

 

Does restarting the machine solve the problem, or is it completely random? Also, if you go into the Event Viewer, do you see anything out of the ordinary? Look in the Windows Logs here and see if there are any signs of trouble.

 

Thanks in advance,

Adam

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/233725%20cache

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution!" This will help the rest of the community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.
BriceB
Punch Card
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Location: France
Views: 1,931
Message 8 of 22

Re: Unable to Swipe for Charms Bar

The problem is completely random and often occurs after a suspend. Sometimes it takes several reboot to make it work again.
There are some strange event in the log. My OS is in French but I can send you the log

 

after having deleted the log I have not found error.

The problem occurs at the first standby

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,291
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Views: 1,912
Message 9 of 22

Re: Unable to Swipe for Charms Bar

BriceB,

 

Do you know exactly what/where the problem is? Could you send me the log so I can see the strange events? I actually know a bit of French and should be able to decipher it?

 

Thanks in advance,

Adam

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution!" This will help the rest of the community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.
BriceB
Punch Card
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Location: France
Views: 1,900
Message 10 of 22

Re: Unable to Swipe for Charms Bar

Here is what I did to reproduce the problem

- Starting the PC
- Everything is OK
- Adjustment of standby after 1 minute (stop hard disks and 1 min Standby 1 min)
- I patient until the standby
- Pressing the power button
- The charms bar does not appear with the touch (Looking good on the bottom right perceives a circle as if you touched the touch screen)
- Forced reboot it works again and
- The problem is systematic for each standby

 

I send you the logs as soon as possible

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors