Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Yoga260
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Views: 513
Message 1 of 4

Yoga 260 not starting, possibly BIOS issue

Hello everyone,

I have a Thinkpad Yoga 260, which suddenly stopped working.

The laptop would fail to post, giving me 5 short beeps, pause, 5 short beeps on startup without keyboard backlight, or anything on the screen, while the fan spins, the error code suggesting it's a motherboard failure.

The laptop's warranty has expired, and being an engineer, I took it apart and tried all possible power/reset/clear cmos cycles posted here, with no success.

As I remember updating my bios rather recently, and reading that several users managed to bring their laptop back with a reflash, I tried reflashing the desoldered chip with a CH341a programmer, and trying to clone the bios chip with new 25q128fvsq chips I have bought.

My issue when flashing the bios is, that I am unable to verify it, regardless of what I write to it, and regardless of chip.

I've tried cloning the readout of the original untempered chip, but whenever I write the image to a chip, reading it back I get a mismatch. Furthermore, I've tried flashing the latest bios by extracting and editing the .fl1 image by removing the non-bios hex values from it and pasting it in place of the bios region of the orignal chip readout (as shown here).

The image I've made matched in length and structure to the readout, yet, after flashing I read out a different image than the one I've written.

When trying the new flashes, soldered in, I have the following results:

new chip with old image: keyboard backlight flashes once, fan spins up then shuts down without any other response.

old chip with new (modified) image: same as above happened the first time and won't boot afterwards.

I have also tried removing all power sources (cmos battery too), pressed power button, pressed cmos clear button, but nothing changes. Moreover, I'm certain I've soldered the chip correctly and didn't cause any shorts.