cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
hkamalh
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-25-2016
Location: US
Views: 397
Message 1 of 7

m.2 cache drive: designate as storage or boot drive

I have a Thinkpad Yoga 15, purchased with a factory installed 1tb HDD and an m.2 16gb SSD cache.

I have purchased a compatible 120gb SSD drive and replaced the 16gb SSD cache drive with this one (opening up was thankfully straight-forward).

 

I've been looking for instructions on how to designate this m.2 ssd drive as a 2nd drive and have not found anything online.

 

I think I need to do this first before I can clone the Windows 10 OS from the 1tb HDD to the new 120gb m.2 SSD and then designate it as the boot drive, leaving the 1tb as a data drive.

 

Many thanks!

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,931
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 358
Message 2 of 7

Re: m.2 cache drive: designate as storage or boot drive

I personally would do a clean install instead of a cloning.

 

For this just remove the 2.5" SSD, install the M.2 drive, do a clean install of Win10, and after the install is finished and most of thd drivers updaten, then put the 2.5" SSD back.

 

Regards

 

-

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
hkamalh
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-25-2016
Location: US
Views: 341
Message 3 of 7

Re: m.2 cache drive: designate as storage or boot drive

At present the m.2 cache drive is not recognised (I have replaced the original 16gb SSD with a 120gb SSD).

How do I get the system to recognise it?

When I click on "This PC" in file manager I only see the 1tb HDD and not the m.2 SSD cache drive.

 

If it is not recognised then how will the system boot with the 1tb HDD removed?

 

Thanks for your help

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,931
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 336
Message 4 of 7

Re: m.2 cache drive: designate as storage or boot drive

Maybe is not formatted? Click on the Windows start menu and type diskmgmt.msc (or press the Windows Key+X and select "Disk Management")

 

This is the disk management program. Do you see the M.2 drive there?

 

-

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
hkamalh
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-25-2016
Location: US
Views: 319
Message 5 of 7

Re: m.2 cache drive: designate as storage or boot drive

Yes, it is seen on disk management, but unallocated.

How to make it allocated and show up in file manager?

 

Thanks!

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,931
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 314
Message 6 of 7

Re: m.2 cache drive: designate as storage or boot drive

I don't have now a Windows machine at hand, but if I remember correctly you need to right click on it select "New Volume", then allocate the total disk space and finally format it (use NTFS and the fast format option).

 

After a successful formatting the disk should become visible.

 

-

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
hkamalh
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-25-2016
Location: US
Views: 289
Message 7 of 7

Re: m.2 cache drive: designate as storage or boot drive

Thank you for your help, it has been extremely useful.

 

With your help, the m2 ssd is recognised in Windows alongside the HDD and I have cloned it.

I changed the boot order in the bios to ssd before HDD but in reality (slow speed), and in the disk management utility, the HDD still functions as the boot drive.

 

I don't want to delete the boot software on the hdd as I fear I'll do something wrong.

 

Is there a way to change the boot drive from the HDD to ssd and not just change the boot order?

 

Many thanks

 

 

 

 

 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors