English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

19 Posts

05-19-2016

US

37 Signins

256 Page Views

  • Posts: 19
  • Registered: ‎05-19-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 256
  • Message 1 of 4

Can I use the RAM from my T460 in a T470?

2017-11-25, 17:20 PM

I'm about to get a T470 and would like to just transfer the SSD and RAM from my T460 into it (running Linux, so there's no Microsoftian you-can't-do-that nonsense). 

 

Question: Is the older RAM compatible with the newer model? Or do I need to buy new RAM?

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

2253 Posts

04-17-2014

US

3324 Signins

40330 Page Views

  • Posts: 2253
  • Registered: ‎04-17-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 40330
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: Can I use the RAM from my T460 in a T470?

2017-11-25, 18:13 PM

The T460 uses DDR3L chipset whereas the T470 uses a DDR4 chipset.  These aren't backwards or fowards compatible, so you'll need DDR4 SODIMM memory. 

 

As for storage, both run on the SATA or PCIe interface, so you'll be fine there. 


Best,
Eric Xu

I'm a Lenovo forums advocate and brand advocate (Lenovo INsider). I'm a volunteer; I don't work for Lenovo.

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!


Please read the Community Guidelinesbefore posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


Lenovo Forums have transitioned to a new platform. The team is working hard to bring new features and make the forums better than it ever was before!
The 'Search' function is currently down. In the interim, please get help through browser searches.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

19 Posts

05-19-2016

US

37 Signins

256 Page Views

  • Posts: 19
  • Registered: ‎05-19-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 256
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: Can I use the RAM from my T460 in a T470?

2017-11-25, 18:20 PM
Thanks.
Reply
Options

7963 Posts

01-13-2008

US

77039 Signins

2174573 Page Views

  • Posts: 7963
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 2174573
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: Can I use the RAM from my T460 in a T470?

2017-11-26, 5:00 AM

The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

Communities: English Deutsch Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Polski Türkçe Moto English


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community


Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete