English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

31 Posts

07-16-2012

US

33 Signins

276 Page Views

  • Posts: 31
  • Registered: ‎07-16-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 276
  • Message 1 of 13

Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

2012-07-16, 2:26 AM

I'm at a complete loss here. Brand new T430. I changed the settings in BIOS to UEFI and installed Windows 7 x64 successfully. But I can no longer get into the BIOS. F1, F12, Enter nothing works.

Please help!

Thanks much!!

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

6511 Posts

10-29-2009

NC

17650 Signins

162004 Page Views

  • Posts: 6511
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2009
  • Location: NC
  • Views: 162004
  • Message 2 of 13

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

2012-07-16, 19:25 PM

Hello,

 

Do you see the prompt during POST  "To interrupt normal start up, Press Enter"  ?

Reply
Options

31 Posts

07-16-2012

US

33 Signins

276 Page Views

  • Posts: 31
  • Registered: ‎07-16-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 276
  • Message 3 of 13

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

2012-07-16, 19:46 PM

Yes, I do. I hit Enter, nothing happens. Tried all possible keys, hit them many times, no luck.

I have given up at this point. Very frustrating. There are other reports on this issue too. Was there a bad BIOS update from Lenovo?

 

Reply
Options

31 Posts

07-16-2012

US

33 Signins

276 Page Views

  • Posts: 31
  • Registered: ‎07-16-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 276
  • Message 4 of 13

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

2012-07-16, 19:51 PM

To claify, all the keys works once Windows boots. But they don't during POST. I cannot get into the BIOS to change boot order etc. At this point the system is unusable for me since I need to reinstall the OS by booting off a DVD or network etc.

Reply
Options

6511 Posts

10-29-2009

NC

17650 Signins

162004 Page Views

  • Posts: 6511
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2009
  • Location: NC
  • Views: 162004
  • Message 5 of 13

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

2012-07-16, 20:15 PM

parthan,

 

please check your private messages.  Look for the mailbox icon and "1 New" near the top-right of the screen.

Reply
Options

2445 Posts

03-09-2012

CA

5597 Signins

25336 Page Views

  • Posts: 2445
  • Registered: ‎03-09-2012
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 25336
  • Message 6 of 13

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

2012-07-16, 20:55 PM
Since it did work I'll bet it due to the change to UEFI which most of us are not familiar with. I seem to recall there was a Automatic BIOS detection setting.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Reply
Options

2 Posts

01-25-2013

Portugal

5 Signins

16 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎01-25-2013
  • Location: Portugal
  • Views: 16
  • Message 7 of 13

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

2013-01-25, 15:58 PM

Hi someotherguy,

 

Can you help me with this problem?

 

I hit enter to stop the normal boot and then appear a window to select different options:

- F1: Enter BIOS

- Another one I don't remember

- F12: Select bootable device

 

Any of the menus I've tryied to enter I got a message afterwards saying:

 

"Intel Boot Agent GE v1.3.81

PXE 2.1 Build 091 WfM 2.0)"

 

And just stays there. Nothing happens.

 

After pressing F1 or F12 or other, I got a small message saying press CTRL+S to enter the setup menu. If I press it, I enter in a menu just to change the amount of time that message appear and if I want it or not.

 

Can you help me?

 

I need to activate the virtualization on the BIOS in order to setup virtual machines!

Reply
Options

2 Posts

01-25-2013

Portugal

5 Signins

16 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎01-25-2013
  • Location: Portugal
  • Views: 16
  • Message 8 of 13

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

2013-01-25, 16:57 PM

Hi All,

 

I've solved the problem. Just a BIOS Update!

 

Strange that the initial BIOS doesn't work!

 

Thanks

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

1 Posts

05-26-2013

United States

2 Signins

4 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎05-26-2013
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 4
  • Message 9 of 13

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

2013-05-26, 21:07 PM

I have this problem too, but I do *not* get the POST prompt "To interrupt normal start up, Press Enter".  I am running Windows 7 and have not made any changes to the BIOS.

Reply
Options

6 Posts

12-15-2013

US

16 Signins

50 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-15-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 50
  • Message 10 of 13

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

2015-10-10, 15:21 PM

Yesterday I installed windows 8.1 home (and a few days ago windows 7 pro) on my t20 booting from a usb both times; I went into f1 and f12 for both, no problems) .  I then installed windows 10 home (so this is what I am running right now).  Today I went to re-install windows 7 pro (there really is a reason for all this) and f1 doesnt do anything. Help! 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete