Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

146 Posts

03-31-2008

California

736 Signins

3660 Page Views

  • Posts: 146
  • Registered: ‎03-31-2008
  • Location: California
  • Views: 3660
  • Message 1 of 18

Channels 12-14

2012-11-11, 4:59 AM

I just ordered a t T430s and will be travelling to Asia, and need access to channels 12, 13, 14 on WiFi, i.e. 802.11, on the Intel 6300?  Is there any way I can get my US bought laptop to cooperate when I'm abroad?

Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3314 Signins

95288 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95288
  • Message 2 of 18

Re: Channels 12-14

2012-11-11, 18:24 PM
Pretty sure it should have no problems.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

146 Posts

03-31-2008

California

736 Signins

3660 Page Views

  • Posts: 146
  • Registered: ‎03-31-2008
  • Location: California
  • Views: 3660
  • Message 3 of 18

Re: Channels 12-14

2012-11-11, 18:43 PM

Hi ColonelONeill,

 

Are you speaking from experience?  Regulatory domains for channels are different in the US vs. EU and Asia.  For sure, this has been a problem with my T61p and its Intel 4965AGN...

Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3314 Signins

95288 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95288
  • Message 4 of 18

Re: Channels 12-14

2012-11-12, 0:22 AM
I never had problems with my former T400 and 5300, so presumably the 6300 will have no problems.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

146 Posts

03-31-2008

California

736 Signins

3660 Page Views

  • Posts: 146
  • Registered: ‎03-31-2008
  • Location: California
  • Views: 3660
  • Message 5 of 18

Re: Channels 12-14

2012-11-12, 1:29 AM

Did you actually get onto Channel 14?

Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3314 Signins

95288 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95288
  • Message 6 of 18

Re: Channels 12-14

2012-11-12, 6:31 AM
Not that I know of explicitly, unfortunately.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

87 Posts

07-10-2012

Germany

698 Signins

6925 Page Views

  • Posts: 87
  • Registered: ‎07-10-2012
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 6925
  • Message 7 of 18

Re: Channels 12-14

2012-11-12, 8:46 AM

Access to different channels are driver dependant. I had this experience with intel WiFi card that was in DELL laptop. It's a nightmare to debug. If your current drivers does not allow you to see ch 12-14, you will not be able to use them without reinstalling drivers from other region.

---
T430s (i7 / HD+ / Intel 520 SSD / 16 GB Ram)
Previous: X60s, Portégé R100
Reply
Options

146 Posts

03-31-2008

California

736 Signins

3660 Page Views

  • Posts: 146
  • Registered: ‎03-31-2008
  • Location: California
  • Views: 3660
  • Message 8 of 18

Re: Channels 12-14

2012-11-12, 20:39 PM

"If your current drivers does not allow you to see ch 12-14, you will not be able to use them without reinstalling drivers from other region."

 

Perfect, but where do I find these drivers?  ...glad to hear it is not a BIOS related change.  That would be even more painful.

Reply
Options

87 Posts

07-10-2012

Germany

698 Signins

6925 Page Views

  • Posts: 87
  • Registered: ‎07-10-2012
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 6925
  • Message 9 of 18

Re: Channels 12-14

2012-11-12, 21:41 PM

Apparently, now it should work out of the box if you want to connect to AP and not do ad-hoc network:

 

http://www.intel.com/support/wireless/wlan/sb/cs-006064.htm

 

Nice to see that this was solved without the need to reinstall drivers...

---
T430s (i7 / HD+ / Intel 520 SSD / 16 GB Ram)
Previous: X60s, Portégé R100
Reply
Options

146 Posts

03-31-2008

California

736 Signins

3660 Page Views

  • Posts: 146
  • Registered: ‎03-31-2008
  • Location: California
  • Views: 3660
  • Message 10 of 18

Re: Channels 12-14

2012-11-13, 0:34 AM

As excited as I was to try this, I could not get my 4965AGN in my T61p to update its driver version beyond the one dated (10/07/2010) version 13.4.0.139, and hence still have no channel 14 access.

 

I'll have to wait to try this with the 6300AGN when I get it in my T430s in a couple of weeks.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms