Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

172 Posts

02-10-2010

Vancouver, BC, Canada

410 Signins

3291 Page Views

  • Posts: 172
  • Registered: ‎02-10-2010
  • Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Views: 3291
  • Message 1 of 7

Does the T510 & T410 support Turbo Memory?

2010-03-16, 18:10 PM

I think that's what it's called.  You know, where you use a SD card or USB drive as extra cache RAM?  Does the T510/T410 support it?

If it does, has anyone tried it?  I've got a regular HDD not an SSD.  I can pick up a 16GB Class 6 SDHC card on sale today for $40 Canadian (approx $42 or so USD) and I'm thinking I might do it if it would help my system.  

Thoughts?  Thanks!

_________________________________________________________________
ThinkPad T510 : i5-540M : 8GB PC-10600 : 500GB 7200rpm : 15.6" HD+ : Intel 6300 : Win7 Pro 64 : 9Cell
Ordered 2/Feb/2010 : Shipped 22/Feb/2010 : Received 3/Mar/2010
Reply
Answer
Options

172 Posts

02-10-2010

Vancouver, BC, Canada

410 Signins

3291 Page Views

  • Posts: 172
  • Registered: ‎02-10-2010
  • Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Views: 3291

Re: Does the T510 & T410 support Turbo Memory?

2010-03-17, 20:04 PM

Thanks for the replies, guys.  I think MidnightSun over at the Notebook Review forums (where I also posted this question) summed it up pretty well:

 

I think you're thinking about two different things:
Turbo memory
is a special flash memory module installed inside the laptop that's anywhere from 1GB to 4GB. It can be used to cache boot files and program files, theoretically improving the loading time because it can be read fsater than the HDD.
Readyboost
is a feature in Vista and Win7 where you can plug in a USB drive or a memory card that is of sufficient speed, which the OS uses as an alternative to the page file on the HDD.

Both technologies, however, won't provide you with many benefits. ReadyBoost is pretty much useless if you have more than ~1GB of RAM. Turbo memory provides very minimal benefits that are outweighed by the cost - the money would be better spent saving up for an SSD.


I think you're talking about ReadyBoost in your case: but with 8GB of memory, it won't boost your performance noticeably (although the 16GB SDHC would be useful in the event that you get an SSD that has a relatively small storage capacity - I'm using one to store my music collection).

 

In other words--I'm not bothering.  :)

_________________________________________________________________
ThinkPad T510 : i5-540M : 8GB PC-10600 : 500GB 7200rpm : 15.6" HD+ : Intel 6300 : Win7 Pro 64 : 9Cell
Ordered 2/Feb/2010 : Shipped 22/Feb/2010 : Received 3/Mar/2010
Reply

Replies(6)
Options

132 Posts

04-04-2008

USA

91 Signins

1495 Page Views

  • Posts: 132
  • Registered: ‎04-04-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 1495
  • Message 2 of 7

Re: Does the T510 & T410 support Turbo Memory?

2010-03-17, 2:36 AM

I did try using an SD card (and flash drive too) as Readyboost memory in Vista once but it didn't help.  In fact at times it appeared to distinctly slow things down and use more battery power as it loaded data onto the drive from the HDD.  I think it was an interesting idea that never really worked.

 

If you're running 4GB RAM then that should be perfect for most things unless you're running serious Virtual Machines or similar.

 

If you have 2GB, buying 4GB RAM will be money better spent.

Reply
Options

49 Posts

01-29-2010

CA, US

214 Signins

1824 Page Views

  • Posts: 49
  • Registered: ‎01-29-2010
  • Location: CA, US
  • Views: 1824
  • Message 3 of 7

Re: Does the T510 & T410 support Turbo Memory?

2010-03-17, 7:21 AM

Yeah ReadyBoost seems fairly crappy imo. If you want speed, get a lot of RAM and Super Fetch can preload stuff or you. Or just get a SSD, the best thing that ever happened to laptop.

Reply
Answer
Options

172 Posts

02-10-2010

Vancouver, BC, Canada

410 Signins

3291 Page Views

  • Posts: 172
  • Registered: ‎02-10-2010
  • Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Views: 3291
  • Message 4 of 7

Re: Does the T510 & T410 support Turbo Memory?

2010-03-17, 20:04 PM

Thanks for the replies, guys.  I think MidnightSun over at the Notebook Review forums (where I also posted this question) summed it up pretty well:

 

I think you're thinking about two different things:
Turbo memory
is a special flash memory module installed inside the laptop that's anywhere from 1GB to 4GB. It can be used to cache boot files and program files, theoretically improving the loading time because it can be read fsater than the HDD.
Readyboost
is a feature in Vista and Win7 where you can plug in a USB drive or a memory card that is of sufficient speed, which the OS uses as an alternative to the page file on the HDD.

Both technologies, however, won't provide you with many benefits. ReadyBoost is pretty much useless if you have more than ~1GB of RAM. Turbo memory provides very minimal benefits that are outweighed by the cost - the money would be better spent saving up for an SSD.


I think you're talking about ReadyBoost in your case: but with 8GB of memory, it won't boost your performance noticeably (although the 16GB SDHC would be useful in the event that you get an SSD that has a relatively small storage capacity - I'm using one to store my music collection).

 

In other words--I'm not bothering.  :)

_________________________________________________________________
ThinkPad T510 : i5-540M : 8GB PC-10600 : 500GB 7200rpm : 15.6" HD+ : Intel 6300 : Win7 Pro 64 : 9Cell
Ordered 2/Feb/2010 : Shipped 22/Feb/2010 : Received 3/Mar/2010

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

382 Posts

02-13-2009

United States of America

228 Signins

4335 Page Views

  • Posts: 382
  • Registered: ‎02-13-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 4335
  • Message 5 of 7

Re: Does the T510 & T410 support Turbo Memory?

2010-03-17, 22:19 PM

That is pretty good..  I personally have turboboost because I don't want to use my system memory for caching.. :)

Thinkpad T500-2081 CTO | T9400 2.53GHz | 8 GB RAM | ATI HD3650 + Intel GM45 | 15.4" LED WXGA+ | Windows 10 | ATI Catalyst 13.1 (non-switchable)
Thinkpad 390x | PII 333 | 256mb ram | NeoMagic 256AV | SVGA LCD | OS/2 v4.52
Reply
Options

371 Posts

12-05-2009

Boston

304 Signins

1667 Page Views

  • Posts: 371
  • Registered: ‎12-05-2009
  • Location: Boston
  • Views: 1667
  • Message 6 of 7

Re: Does the T510 & T410 support Turbo Memory?

2011-01-28, 21:35 PM

If anyone is looking for a 2GB Turbo memory chip, you can have it from me for $10!  This does not work well with my SSD.

 

Reply
Options

169 Posts

01-15-2010

United States of America

197 Signins

1463 Page Views

  • Posts: 169
  • Registered: ‎01-15-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1463
  • Message 7 of 7

Re: Does the T510 & T410 support Turbo Memory?

2011-01-30, 22:12 PM

Hmm.  I'd happily pay $10 to try it, but first I have to figure out whether I already have one installed.

 

Where does it show up in your device?  And do you know the physical location: Is it in the memory slot, under th KB, or somewere else...?

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms