Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit our eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

9 Posts

04-21-2009

chicago

8 Signins

51 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎04-21-2009
  • Location: chicago
  • Views: 51
  • Message 1 of 3

Driver for synaptics touchpad - Vista 64

2009-04-21, 14:57 PM

After I ran the Advanced SystemCare Free or CCleaner on my new Vista 64 Business, I started to got error message saying that  Synaptics touchpad does nto work any more. After doing some research, I understand that both of the two programs will remove the synaptics touchpad driver.

 

I tried to re-install the driver, however, I could not find the synaptics touchpad driver at Lenovo website. Does anybody know where to find the driver? 

 

Also, is there any way to prevent the driver being removed by either Advanced SystemCare Free or CCleaner?

 

Thanks.

 

Reply
Options

1419 Posts

10-26-2008

California, United States

711 Signins

35916 Page Views

  • Posts: 1419
  • Registered: ‎10-26-2008
  • Location: California, United States
  • Views: 35916
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: Driver for synaptics touchpad - Vista 64

2009-04-21, 15:16 PM
The latest Synaptics touchpad driver release is available here. However, I would recommend you install the Lenovo touchpad driver instead. It is called the UltraNav driver. As you didn't post what model ThinkPad you have, I won't be able to post a link.

\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Reply
Options

28 Posts

08-20-2008

Singapore

26 Signins

154 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎08-20-2008
  • Location: Singapore
  • Views: 154
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: Driver for synaptics touchpad - Vista 64

2009-04-21, 16:05 PM
When cleaning registry using CCleaner, uncheck all the boxes which is linked to synaptics. (usually begins with Syn). Do a registry backup just in case. Rolling back to the backups worked for me... no need to reinstall drivers.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms