Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

06-16-2021

Canada

9 Signins

35 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2021
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 35
  • Message 1 of 9

High Hardware Protected Memory in T495

2021-06-16, 19:55 PM

I have an T495 with 8GB of ram (soldered ram).  I can access 6GB of memory with 2GB reserved by the graphics card.

 

I recently added a 16GB ram to the only expansion slot to make it 24GB (16+8).  I can see the 24GB showing from bios and task manager.  However I can only access 13.9GB of memory out of the 24GB.  In task manager, it shows 10.1 GB is hardware reserved.

 

Is there anyway I can free up the 10.1GB?  What are the 10.1GB being used for?

 

I have the latest firmware upgraded and all patches in the T495.  It is running Win 10 pro with all latest update applied.

 

Any help is appreciated.

 

 

High Protected Memory

 

Reply
Answer
Options

5 Posts

06-16-2021

Canada

9 Signins

35 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2021
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 35

Re:High Hardware Protected Memory in T495

2021-06-20, 4:33 AM
Finally figure out the memory issue. When I was using the corsair 16gb memory which is very common for thinkpad, it is not actually compatible to T495 because of the AMD Ryzen CPU. It only works for Intel CPU. Only very limited model of laptop memory is compatible to Ryzen. I went into multiple stores and their technicians all say laptop memory chips are the same as long as the speed matches specs, DDR4, unbuffered, etc which is not the case.
 
Make sure to check the specific model of memory chip is compatible to the CPU(from AMD web site) and from the lenovo. The T495 motherboard does accept 8+8 or 8+16 configurations and max at 32GB.
Reply

Replies(8)
Options

49 Posts

02-12-2016

Colombia

53 Signins

168 Page Views

  • Posts: 49
  • Registered: ‎02-12-2016
  • Location: Colombia
  • Views: 168
  • Message 2 of 9

Re:High Hardware Protected Memory in T495

2021-06-16, 21:33 PM

Look in the UEFI Setup for the setting Display > UMA Buffer Size. Maybe changing the setting helps. 

Reply
Options

5 Posts

06-16-2021

Canada

9 Signins

35 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2021
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 35
  • Message 3 of 9

Re:High Hardware Protected Memory in T495

2021-06-16, 23:38 PM

I changed BIOS > Display > UMA Frame Buffer Size from 2G to 1G  (only 2G and 1G choices).

 

The available memory increase by 1GB.  Usable memory changed from 13.9 to14.9GB.

 

The Hardware reserved memory changed from 10.1 to 9.1 GB.

 

It is getting a little better.  However for the new16GB memory I added, I think 8GB from that memory is being reserved by the hardware.

 
Not sure how I can get it back.

 

Reply
Options

49 Posts

02-12-2016

Colombia

53 Signins

168 Page Views

  • Posts: 49
  • Registered: ‎02-12-2016
  • Location: Colombia
  • Views: 168
  • Message 4 of 9

Re:High Hardware Protected Memory in T495

2021-06-17, 0:58 AM

Maybe the only valid configurations are 8+8 or 16+16, check the manuals and specs.

Reply
Options

5657 Posts

08-02-2018

Philippines

928 Signins

28794 Page Views

  • Posts: 5657
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2018
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 28794
  • Message 5 of 9

Re:High Hardware Protected Memory in T495

2021-06-17, 23:03 PM

Hi there!


Greetings

 

Try to use one memory stick at a time and then swap slots to see how it shows both in BIOS and within Windows.

 

This may give us hints if there is a ram issue or slot problem or issue with the firmware detection or board itself especially if you have also tried re-imaging the OS.

 

 


Jwes_Lenovo



Did someone help you today? Press the thumbs-up icon below to thank them.!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

Reply
Options

5 Posts

06-16-2021

Canada

9 Signins

35 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2021
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 35
  • Message 6 of 9

Re:High Hardware Protected Memory in T495

2021-06-20, 4:29 AM

Hello, there is only 1 memory slot for expansion.  The first 8GB memory is soldered.  Only can put one 8GB or 16GB chip in expansion slot.

Reply
Options

5 Posts

06-16-2021

Canada

9 Signins

35 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2021
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 35
  • Message 7 of 9

Re:High Hardware Protected Memory in T495

2021-06-20, 4:31 AM

I have verified the hardware configuration specs.  T495 does accept 8GB(soldered) + 8GB expansion chip or 8GB(soldered) + 16GB expansion chip.

Reply
Answer
Options

5 Posts

06-16-2021

Canada

9 Signins

35 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2021
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 35
  • Message 8 of 9

Re:High Hardware Protected Memory in T495

2021-06-20, 4:33 AM
Finally figure out the memory issue. When I was using the corsair 16gb memory which is very common for thinkpad, it is not actually compatible to T495 because of the AMD Ryzen CPU. It only works for Intel CPU. Only very limited model of laptop memory is compatible to Ryzen. I went into multiple stores and their technicians all say laptop memory chips are the same as long as the speed matches specs, DDR4, unbuffered, etc which is not the case.
 
Make sure to check the specific model of memory chip is compatible to the CPU(from AMD web site) and from the lenovo. The T495 motherboard does accept 8+8 or 8+16 configurations and max at 32GB.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

5657 Posts

08-02-2018

Philippines

928 Signins

28794 Page Views

  • Posts: 5657
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2018
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 28794
  • Message 9 of 9

Re:High Hardware Protected Memory in T495

2021-06-22, 16:19 PM

Thanks for the details in your observations specific to such third-party devices with the specific model.
I am sure others would find this something to consider.

 

 

 

Jwes_Lenovo



Did someone help you today? Press the thumbs-up icon below to thank them.!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms