Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

06-26-2009

Taunton, MA

7 Signins

40 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎06-26-2009
  • Location: Taunton, MA
  • Views: 40
  • Message 1 of 5

How to Clone a T400 using Acronis TrueImage

2009-06-26, 17:54 PM
I just received a shipment of 25 T-400 ThinkPads (Vista Business)  and have created a master image that contains all the applications and  settings I want and would like to take an image of the HDD and clone it to the other 24 Laptops. I tried imaging the "C" drive and recover the "C" drive image onto another T-400 without any success. Do I need to image the entire HDD including the factory partitions "Q" and "S" too?  I'm also not sure if there are any files that need to be modified after cloning to maintain system identity - such as serial number. If anyone can provide any guidance I would certainly appreciate it and Thank you in advance for any advice.
Reply
Answer
Options

1214 Posts

11-20-2007

Iowa, USA

1820 Signins

37095 Page Views

  • Posts: 1214
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2007
  • Location: Iowa, USA
  • Views: 37095

Re: How to Clone a T400 using Acronis TrueImage

2009-06-27, 2:51 AM

I would try booting to the Acronis bootable media and making an image file of the entire disc and save it on a network share. Then boot the second machine up to the Acronis bootable media and restore the image from the network share overwriting all the partitions on the destination drive.

 

Did you use the factory VLK windows install or are you going to reseal it and use the COA numbers for each machine?

 

The serial number is in the BIOS, not the hard drive.

 

______________________________________________________
T60 2623-D7U, 3 GB Ram. Dual boot XP and Linux Mint.
T400 2765-T7U Windows 7

Registered Linux User #160145

FYI: I am not employed by Lenovo
Reply

Replies(4)
Answer
Options

1214 Posts

11-20-2007

Iowa, USA

1820 Signins

37095 Page Views

  • Posts: 1214
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2007
  • Location: Iowa, USA
  • Views: 37095
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: How to Clone a T400 using Acronis TrueImage

2009-06-27, 2:51 AM

I would try booting to the Acronis bootable media and making an image file of the entire disc and save it on a network share. Then boot the second machine up to the Acronis bootable media and restore the image from the network share overwriting all the partitions on the destination drive.

 

Did you use the factory VLK windows install or are you going to reseal it and use the COA numbers for each machine?

 

The serial number is in the BIOS, not the hard drive.

 

______________________________________________________
T60 2623-D7U, 3 GB Ram. Dual boot XP and Linux Mint.
T400 2765-T7U Windows 7

Registered Linux User #160145

FYI: I am not employed by Lenovo

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

3 Posts

06-26-2009

Taunton, MA

7 Signins

40 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎06-26-2009
  • Location: Taunton, MA
  • Views: 40
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: How to Clone a T400 using Acronis TrueImage

2009-06-27, 14:03 PM

Thank you very much for your response.

 

Since I don't have a Microsoft VLK, I'll be using the key that came with the system. Is there a way to "re-seal" the LK that came with the individual systems? If so, can you point me in the right direction?

 

Again Thank you!!

Reply
Options

1214 Posts

11-20-2007

Iowa, USA

1820 Signins

37095 Page Views

  • Posts: 1214
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2007
  • Location: Iowa, USA
  • Views: 37095
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: How to Clone a T400 using Acronis TrueImage

2009-06-27, 20:07 PM

If you modify one of the original factory images they already are a VLK version. That will allow you to put the image on all of your other Thinkpads without any activation issues. Be sure you have the proper COA sticker on all the machines to be legal.

If you install your own version of windows it will most likely not be a VLK version and you wouls have to reseal it before cloning. Then upon statring each machine up for the first time you would have to enter the key number from the COA sticker and activate it. 

______________________________________________________
T60 2623-D7U, 3 GB Ram. Dual boot XP and Linux Mint.
T400 2765-T7U Windows 7

Registered Linux User #160145

FYI: I am not employed by Lenovo
Reply
Options

1214 Posts

11-20-2007

Iowa, USA

1820 Signins

37095 Page Views

  • Posts: 1214
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2007
  • Location: Iowa, USA
  • Views: 37095
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: How to Clone a T400 using Acronis TrueImage

2009-06-27, 20:11 PM
Instruction on deploying a Vista image here.
______________________________________________________
T60 2623-D7U, 3 GB Ram. Dual boot XP and Linux Mint.
T400 2765-T7U Windows 7

Registered Linux User #160145

FYI: I am not employed by Lenovo
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms