Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

99 Posts

09-20-2010

Italy

187 Signins

830 Page Views

  • Posts: 99
  • Registered: ‎09-20-2010
  • Location: Italy
  • Views: 830
  • Message 1 of 6

How to find out which memory modules are upgradable with my T510?

2012-06-02, 1:56 AM

Hi everyone I have a ThinkPadT510 and would like to upgrade my memory from 2x4GB modules to a total of its maximum capability of 8GB and was wondering where in the world I could find information on which memory modules are compatible with my laptop.  

I tried looking on the Lenovo site but I can't make any sense out of what they have on here:

I've been looking at the brands crucial, and also at here.

I want to improve my gaming experience even though I have a horrible NVIDIA NVS graphics card (smh).

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Reply
Options

987 Posts

06-03-2011

United States of America

591 Signins

14790 Page Views

  • Posts: 987
  • Registered: ‎06-03-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 14790
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: How to find out which memory modules are upgradable with my T510?

2012-06-02, 23:16 PM

What processor do you have in the T510? I think most of the processors of that generation are limited to 1066MHz (PC3-8500) memory; however, some (either i7s or Quadcores) might support 1333MHz (PC3-10600) operation. 

 

What do you have in the machine now? 

 

Both the Lenovo link ( http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/product-and-parts/detail.page?&LegacyDocID=MIGR-73207 ) and the Crucial link ( http://www.crucial.com/eu/store/listparts.aspx?model=ThinkPad%20T510%20Series&Cat=RAM ) are telling you to get DDR3-1066 Memory. This is may either be the fastest memory officially supported by the system, or it might be what matched its shipping configuration. Once I know which processor you have, I'll be able to tell you more.

 

 

I can recommend the Samsung MV-3T4G4 to you. It will run at any speed that the system requires, up to 1600MHz. I do not think the T510 is capable of 1600MHz operation, but the MV-3T4G4 can clock down as required. Samsung RAM has a solid track record for reliability and compatibility, unlike other brands. I do not think adding extra RAM will make a noticeable difference in your gaming performance, unless you have 2GB or less of RAM currently. You might pull an extra 3-10% frames per second over what you have now, but if a game is currently unplayable because it is lower than 30fps, even at 10% more performance you are only going to increase a few fps. If all you want the RAM for is gaming, my advice would be to save up for a new machine. 

 

X1 Carbon 3rd Gen Type 20BT i7-5500U, 2560x1440 (non-touch), Win 10 Pro, 8GB RAM, 512 SSD, Intel 7625 WiFi, BT 4.0 | ThinkVision P24q-10 monitor

------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number, and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.
Reply
Options

99 Posts

09-20-2010

Italy

187 Signins

830 Page Views

  • Posts: 99
  • Registered: ‎09-20-2010
  • Location: Italy
  • Views: 830
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: How to find out which memory modules are upgradable with my T510?

2012-06-03, 14:32 PM
Thanks for helping. It's not so much the quality of the graphics but I'm playing Crysis 2 FPS and the aim legs and it's really frustrating. If perhaps there's some RAM out there that would help with that would be awesome!

I have an Intel i7 CPU M 620 @ 2.67GHz, 2 core

Going back to my question I guess I need to know what specs I have to look for so I don't buy a module that isn't compatible with my machine....
Reply
Options

12337 Posts

01-02-2010

United States of America

40516 Signins

427554 Page Views

  • Posts: 12337
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 427554
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: How to find out which memory modules are upgradable with my T510?

2012-06-03, 15:31 PM
You need 1066MHz (PC3-8500) memory. You need items that are labled "laptop memory" or 204-pin. Avoid anything that is 240-pin (desktop). Some people like particular brands. I prefer "cheap".

Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Options

987 Posts

06-03-2011

United States of America

591 Signins

14790 Page Views

  • Posts: 987
  • Registered: ‎06-03-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 14790
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: How to find out which memory modules are upgradable with my T510?

2012-06-03, 15:41 PM

How much RAM is currently in the system?

X1 Carbon 3rd Gen Type 20BT i7-5500U, 2560x1440 (non-touch), Win 10 Pro, 8GB RAM, 512 SSD, Intel 7625 WiFi, BT 4.0 | ThinkVision P24q-10 monitor

------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number, and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.
Reply
Options

2445 Posts

03-09-2012

Canada

5597 Signins

25336 Page Views

  • Posts: 2445
  • Registered: ‎03-09-2012
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 25336
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: How to find out which memory modules are upgradable with my T510?

2012-06-03, 15:44 PM
The current 1333Mhz memory will work as well and I would go with the faster memory. Some brands work and others don't. Its just the way it is (internal chip issues). I know G-Skills works on mine while another brand did not! Most places will swap exchange if the memory does not work. Some will let you install it right in the store (after paying as I did here at Canadian Computers) to be sure and save running back and forth.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms