Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

12 Posts

10-18-2013

Canada

6 Signins

61 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎10-18-2013
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 61
  • Message 1 of 6

Lenovo T410s ultrabay not powering hard drive properly?

2014-04-23, 18:44 PM

Hello, I got a Lenovo T410s which I have been buying parts for here and there, and since I can't afford an msata SSD, I got an ultrabay hard drive adapter off ebay.

 

The problem is, for some reason it is not powering up the hard drive properly. I beleive it worked a couple tims using a 320gb seagate drive, I just purchased a 1TB hitachi drive, and it start to power up then power to it cuts off.

 

I set the CD performance to high and it did not fix anything, what is going on?

 

This is the one I bought. http://www.ebay.ca/itm/New-9-5mm-SATA-Optical-Bay-HDD-Hard-Disk-Adapter-Caddy-Lenovo-T410s-T420s-T430s-/281088445269?pt=US_Drive_Enclosures_Docks&hash=item41722d4b55

Reply
Options

12 Posts

10-18-2013

Canada

6 Signins

61 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎10-18-2013
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 61
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: Lenovo T410s ultrabay not powering hard drive properly?

2014-04-23, 19:03 PM

I booted up parted magic, and removed them plugged it in and it's working fine, detecting them no problem, so for some reason the BIOS cuts power to the ultrabay it seems.

Reply
Options

12 Posts

10-18-2013

Canada

6 Signins

61 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎10-18-2013
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 61
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: Lenovo T410s ultrabay not powering hard drive properly?

2014-04-23, 19:11 PM

Strange, after a few reboot cycles it's staying on from the start now, and is recognized by the BIOS, this happened after I tried to instann windows and it could not find the drive, I rebooted and it's seeing it now no problem, this is strange.

 

I should be glad it seems to be working but I'd like to know why it is now, so I can be sure it won't possibly mess up in the future.

Reply
Options

12 Posts

10-18-2013

Canada

6 Signins

61 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎10-18-2013
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 61
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: Lenovo T410s ultrabay not powering hard drive properly?

2014-04-23, 20:23 PM

 I knocked the laptop, it froze up a bit, now it doesn't see the drive, what the hell.

 

Moderator Note; profanity / implied profanity edited. Please keep it clean!  Forum Rules

Reply
Options

12 Posts

10-18-2013

Canada

6 Signins

61 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎10-18-2013
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 61
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: Lenovo T410s ultrabay not powering hard drive properly?

2014-04-23, 20:46 PM

What the hell is going on now, I downloaded the ISO for a bios update figuring that may fix the problem, stuck it on the drive I have that emulates a CD, it said bios directory not found, I exited that, and now the thing doesn't even seem to get any power, on multiple adapters.

 

edit: well pulling the CMOS battery fixed it, and the hard drive is working again, this thing is driving me nuts.

 

edit 2: god damnit, windows BSOD's a couple times thats understandable, but now the hard drive loses power starting up again randomly,

 

Moderator Note; profanity / implied profanity edited. Please keep it clean!  Forum Rules

Reply
Options

12 Posts

10-18-2013

Canada

6 Signins

61 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎10-18-2013
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 61
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: Lenovo T410s ultrabay not powering hard drive properly?

2014-04-23, 21:26 PM

Ok, I tried something else, I have a 90w power supply, and a 66w power supply (for the x200 I have, though the x200 works fine on either). It always seemed to work on the 66w, and it was on and off on the 90 watt, so I swapped where I have them, it's currently on the 65 watt and it worked fine from the get go.

 

I have to see if anything changes, but it seems to be working, I don't get how the power supply is affecting it though, unless since it is older, maybe it is noisier and somehow that is messing it up? It doesn't make any sense to me, I wish I had an oscilliscope to look at the power coming out of each.

 

Like I said no guarantee, but it always worked with the 65w, so something is strange with the other one. IT did have a tendency to heat up a fair bit.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms