English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

12-12-2012

US

18 Signins

113 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎12-12-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 113
  • Message 1 of 10

Memory capacity of T410?

2012-12-12, 14:44 PM

Hi everyone, my T410 (2516CTO) was bought in the year 2011 with 4GB memory in total(It used up both memory slots)

 

And now I ran a hardware scanner, it reports the memory type is DDR3 PC3 10600.

The BIOS version is 6IET81WW (1.41 ), and date of BIOS is 02/09/12

 

I am running into a performance issue with 4GB memory,

so I am wondering what is the max level of memory my laptop can support,

can I plug two DDR3 PC1600 4G into it?

 

thanks

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

20986 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 20986
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 2 of 10

Re: Memory capacity of T410?

2012-12-12, 14:54 PM
Your T410 supports 8 gigs of RAM at 1333mhz.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

23 Posts

04-02-2011

San francisco,ca

81 Signins

445 Page Views

  • Posts: 23
  • Registered: ‎04-02-2011
  • Location: San francisco,ca
  • Views: 445
  • Message 3 of 10

Re: Memory capacity of T410?

2012-12-25, 16:28 PM

I was wondering how many slots are available on my t410 type 2516-a11.  Your  machine has a different code at end, but  is newer. So i guess mine has the same config with 2GB on both slots occupied.  I was thinking of boosting this machine up this holiday season, and it looks like i need to buy two new 4GB and throw out the old 2GB, since it has only  two memory slots.

 

Glad to find this thread, and i hope Jin returns from vacation soon, to answer my thread elsewhere.  Thanks for this answer  Jin Li.

 

Reply
Options

23 Posts

04-02-2011

San francisco,ca

81 Signins

445 Page Views

  • Posts: 23
  • Registered: ‎04-02-2011
  • Location: San francisco,ca
  • Views: 445
  • Message 4 of 10

Re: Memory capacity of T410?

2012-12-25, 17:57 PM
Never mind my previous question. I found the answer by spending some more time on lenovo site. (the link to find your machine configuration is http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/product-and-parts/partsLookup.page)

The parts lookup says my 2516-a11 has two DIMM slots and they both are occupied with 2GB upon shipping. So, i have to take out both of them and install 4GB in each, to get to the max 8GB that i want. Currently my laptop has PC3-8500 1066 mhz, but i found info at this link that i can replace them with 4GB of PC3-10600 1333mhz (http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/product-and-parts/detail.page?DocID=PD012623)
Reply
Options

17 Posts

12-29-2013

Perú

45 Signins

236 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎12-29-2013
  • Location: Perú
  • Views: 236
  • Message 5 of 10

Re: Memory capacity of T410?

2015-02-12, 15:07 PM
Hello. Are you saying 2x4gb at 1333 will work @ 1066 or that memory will work @1333 mhz?
I'm talking about this http://www.cnet.com/products/lenovo-thinkpad-t410-2522/specs/
Thank you so much.
Reply
Options

4310 Posts

07-24-2013

CH

12952 Signins

376958 Page Views

  • Posts: 4310
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2013
  • Location: CH
  • Views: 376958
  • Message 6 of 10

Re: Memory capacity of T410?

2015-02-12, 15:41 PM

wrote:
. Are you saying2x4gb at 1333 will work @ 1066

Yes, that's what will happen


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

31 Posts

02-15-2015

US

67 Signins

880 Page Views

  • Posts: 31
  • Registered: ‎02-15-2015
  • Location: US
  • Views: 880
  • Message 7 of 10

Re: Memory capacity of T410?

2015-02-15, 11:27 AM

Looking up your CPU on the Intel website is the easiest way to determine how much memory you can use and the speeds it is rated for.

http://ark.intel.com/products/43544/Intel-Core-i5-540M-Processor-3M-Cache-2_53-GHz

 

I always buy memory faster that Intel's rating. At worst it will just dumb down little, but Intel is a bit conservative and I've always had it run at the rated speed. A nice bonus. This looks like it would be an excellent kit:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231342

Reply
Options

2 Posts

04-06-2018

CA

2 Signins

12 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎04-06-2018
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 12
  • Message 8 of 10

Re: Memory capacity of T410?

2018-04-06, 17:51 PM

I bought my lenovo thinkpad t410 and i had system storage of 80 gigs and another disk of 143 gigs

Reply
Options

10946 Posts

01-02-2010

US

39559 Signins

412417 Page Views

  • Posts: 10946
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 412417
  • Message 9 of 10

Re: Memory capacity of T410?

2018-04-06, 19:18 PM

Since this old thread got bumped, I'll update.  T410 will take 16GB memory (2X8GB)


Rich


To help with forum searches, check this out: https:/forums.lenovo.com/t5/Welcome-FAQs/Using-Browser-Search-to-find-your-answers-in-Lenovo-and-Moto-Community/m-p/5016916

I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

31 Posts

02-15-2015

US

67 Signins

880 Page Views

  • Posts: 31
  • Registered: ‎02-15-2015
  • Location: US
  • Views: 880
  • Message 10 of 10

Re: Memory capacity of T410?

2019-08-31, 16:07 PM

That would be DDR3 memory, not the newer DDR4 or older DDR2.
Intel says "DDR3 800/1066".
I was able to use G.SKILL DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) in my T430. It felt a bit quicker but also cost more.

The biggest benefit was going to 16 gig.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete