English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

1 Posts

07-28-2011

England

13 Signins

24 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎07-28-2011
  • Location: England
  • Views: 24
  • Message 1 of 7

Mobile Broadband Sim

2011-07-28, 19:02 PM

I have just purchased a Lenovo T420s with the built in mobile broadbank option.  I don't seem to have received a sim with my package, is that normal?  Any suggestions as to the best place to pick one up?

Reply
Options

1002 Posts

01-07-2011

Sacramento, CA

550 Signins

8462 Page Views

  • Posts: 1002
  • Registered: ‎01-07-2011
  • Location: Sacramento, CA
  • Views: 8462
  • Message 2 of 7

Re: Mobile Broadband Sim

2011-07-28, 22:44 PM

Did you configure it with the Gobi 3000 card? If you did call Lenovo and they should send you out the missing SIM card. Hit Fn+F5 and check for the Wireless WAN option in there.

Reply
Options

1960 Posts

12-02-2007

AU

9435 Signins

247288 Page Views

  • Posts: 1960
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: AU
  • Views: 247288
  • Message 3 of 7

Re: Mobile Broadband Sim

2011-07-29, 0:52 AM

ibarratt wrote:

I don't seem to have received a sim with my package, is that normal?  Any suggestions as to the best place to pick one up?


In Australia there is no SIM supplied with 3G capable ThinkPads, and I expect the delivery configurations for the UK to be much more like those in Australia than those in the US. 

 

 In any case you will need a SIM from your desired 3G provider to be able to use the device for WWAN... there are no generic SIMs.

 

If you just want to use the GPS functionality and nothing else, just about any SIM for any device that has been previously activated will do... it doesn't matter if the SIM active now or not.


Cheers,

 

Bill

------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
Reply
Options

1002 Posts

01-07-2011

Sacramento, CA

550 Signins

8462 Page Views

  • Posts: 1002
  • Registered: ‎01-07-2011
  • Location: Sacramento, CA
  • Views: 8462
  • Message 4 of 7

Re: Mobile Broadband Sim

2011-07-29, 1:43 AM

You don't need a SIM to use the GPS, I have tested this with my Gobi 2000 in my T510. I'm sure the Gobi 3000 works the same.

Reply
Options

1960 Posts

12-02-2007

AU

9435 Signins

247288 Page Views

  • Posts: 1960
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: AU
  • Views: 247288
  • Message 5 of 7

Re: Mobile Broadband Sim

2011-07-29, 2:24 AM

JDay wrote:


 

You don't need a SIM to use the GPS


You might not, but others might.... there are 4 different 3G cards that are supplied across various global markets.

------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
Reply
Options

1002 Posts

01-07-2011

Sacramento, CA

550 Signins

8462 Page Views

  • Posts: 1002
  • Registered: ‎01-07-2011
  • Location: Sacramento, CA
  • Views: 8462
  • Message 6 of 7

Re: Mobile Broadband Sim

2011-08-01, 8:20 AM

wrote:

wrote:


 

You don't need a SIM to use the GPS


You might not, but others might.... there are 4 different 3G cards that are supplied across various global markets.


GPS does not use the SIM card, it is not needed to use the GPS functionality of any Gobi card. In fact those cards don't even require a SIM card in order to be used since they also work on CDMA networks. You only need a SIM card if you are operating the GSM portion of the card.

Reply
Options

4870 Posts

04-25-2008

US

39383 Signins

742012 Page Views

  • Posts: 4870
  • Registered: ‎04-25-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 742012
  • Message 7 of 7

Re: Mobile Broadband Sim

2011-09-12, 22:39 PM
I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Using Browser Search To Find Answers in the Lenovo and Moto Communities.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save